Turned In a Book

scream.jpg

 

Me right now. Feeling a combination of extreme happiness and relief for making a deadline mixed with a bit of panic because I had no feedback whatsoever on this book. It’s nearly impossible to look at your own work objectively, so there are a few creepy nerves vying for all my attention. Is it good? Does it suck? Normally, I’d have my lovely CP, Rachel Vincent, working on an urban fantasy with me, but I didn’t leave myself enough time on this one. I’d also have my agent, Miriam Kriss, taking a look at it before it goes out. But I changed the entire planned plot of this book mid book. Yes, you read that right. Mid book.

So… now I sit back and wait for my editor’s opinion.

Wait, no. I have another deadline, a print galley to check over and rewrites on a new “still secret” book deal coming in any day now. I’ll be too busy to be nervous. This is good. ;)

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in My Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Turned In a Book

  1. Thank goodness for the finished book and all the busy. In the mean time, I need the sequel to Dweller, NOW. It was so good. I thought that all along and now I won’t want to wait for any of the other books.

  2. Speaking on a panel on suspense at ITW Thrillerfest in July. Nervous. My first panel had to be in NYC not OKC. Amy swears I’ll do fine.This old lady a but apprehensive.

  3. You’ll be great, Carol! Glad you liked Dweller. Hope everyone enjoys Blood of an Ancient as much. ;)

Leave a Reply

