What Kind of Writer Am I?

Took this silly quiz for fun.  Haven’t tried my hand at film writing.  Maybe someday. 🙂

You Should Be a Film Writer

You don’t just create compelling stories, you see them as clearly as a movie in your mind.
You have a knack for details and dialogue. You can really make a character come to life.
Chances are, you enjoy creating all types of stories. The joy is in the storytelling.
And nothing would please you more than millions of people seeing your story on the big screen!

What Type of Writer Should You Be?

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in Odds & Ends. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to What Kind of Writer Am I?

  1. Dana Pollard says:

    I’m the same as you, which surprises me. Here I thought I was this sappy love story writer…

  2. X. Dell says:

    A good friend and I collaborated on a screenplay, loosely based on some of his exploits. After querying, meeting with agents, pitching with producers, and getting attachments, the damn thing is still unoptioned.

    The competition for screenwriting is so intense that if someone is willing to invest money in your script, you know that you’ve really accomplished something.

    But chances are you’ll end up like my friend and I. He plans, one day, to write his own book about screenwriting, and says that his first two sentences will be, “So you want to be a screenwriter? You dumb #%$#@!.”

    Only, he didn’t use the word ‘#%$#@!.’

    I took the quiz myself, and it told me I should be a comedy writer. So, how accurate can it be?

    BTW, I recommend Michael Hauge’s “Writing Screenplays that Sell.” Despite the title, it’s a very good introductory text.

  3. The test isn’t very accurate– none of these things are. The questions are too vague and too few. (g)

    I’d need to get better at dialogue to even think about taking that direction.

    Years ago, I was a member of the Washington Romance Writers in DC and I met Janet Evanovich. Her first book in the repo series (not a romance) “One for the Money” had just been optioned for quite a bit of money. This was like nine years ago and there is still no movie.

    I don’t think I’d have the patience for trying this kind of living either.

  4. X. Dell says:

    Not to drive you nuts, or anything, but screenwriting is a very gratifying experience. I think everyone should write at least one, someday.

    Of course, here in NYC, just about everyone has.

  5. Betty S says:

    Rinda, I think they are saying what you’d be good at. Not what has the best payout. Besides, I’ve read your writing. You could write anything you want.

    I was a fiction writer.

  6. Oh I know. I don’t think that quiz has anything to do with payouts. It’s just a silly time waster. (g)

  7. Laura says:

    True story: There are screenwriters living in LA who have made millions selling their scripts to studios, but have not seen one of them actually produced. Any given studio will buy 100 scripts/year but only produce 12. (However, for those 100/year that they accept, there are another 10,000 that they reject.) As a side note, I hate writing scripts, and don’t write them for my own films. I write short treatments and let my actors go.

    (I’m supposed to be a sci-fi writer? Funny, because that’s a genre that I as a rule never read.)

  8. I’m a sci-fi writer – I can buy that. But like you said, the questions are so generic – like the last one asking what your online writing is like. None of the choices fit, but I had to pick crazy ranting because that was the closest.

    But it was fun. At least it didn’t say academic literary essays. AAARRRRGGGGHHHHH!! I would have NOT been able to take that. 😉

  9. I was actually mad that it called me a screenwriter. After about 11 unproduced scripts, I emphatically decided NOT to be a screenwriter five years ago or so. Way to bring back my emotional baggage, blog quiz thing!

    Am enjoying your blog, Rinda. 🙂 Just found it while taking a writing break.

  10. Betty S says:

    I agree the questions were a little difficult to answer. Some of them I had to flip a coin as to which one to select.

    I went back and re-took the test based on the alternative answers I might have chosen and it said I was a “Poet”. (Another career choice that pays nothing!!)

  11. Betty, you are a fantastic poet!

    Laura, Sci fi writers are generally a smart bunch, so be proud. Yes, I’m stereotyping and yes, writers in general are generally a smart bunch — but have a group of them quiz you at a conference to see if you are really the nerd you claimed to be. They didn’t believe me. Go figure. (I did pass (g) )

    Kelli, You could be a comic sci-fi writer. You know, we could always use more Joss Whedons…

    Hi Jenna! I’m a fan of yours! I have your book, Outwitting Writer’s Block! Welcome! Hope you have fun here. Got some fun stuff planned ahead.

  12. Laura says:

    I like science fiction writers because they’re usually pretty wacky. I just don’t like science fiction. It’s a literary genre that’s always left me cold. Horror is more my cup of tea. (Haunted, zombie tea, of course.)

Leave a Reply

