Every Day is a Fresh Start


My daughter took this photo of her father watching the sunset.

Who needs snark on Mondays? Not me.

What better way to breathe a spark into your world than with a fresh start. Maybe it’s the spring weather, but I’ve been feeling the simmering warmth of creation somewhere in my middle, sharing my space continuously, popping up its head every now and then to spill a bit of euphoria into my day. Its presence is there to remind me of the true joy one can experience in giving free reign to your imagination, your voice.

We spend enough time dwelling on the difficulties of this vocation — for that’s what it is — a calling, not necessarily a choice. We listen to workshops and speeches about how hard writing can be. Some of us have been at it awhile. Some have gone through dry periods, the cause anything from illness to family obligation to something as personal as crippling self-doubt.

Human nature carries us through these times, makes us strong, feeds our spirit with experience so we can understand more. And in understanding more, we create more.

We can give ourselves to the story.

I don’t expect dry times to entirely disappear. Life hands us challenges but then… then she graces us with her gift. Every winter, nature takes a breather, sheds the leaves from her trees, creates warm, deep burrows for the tiniest of her creatures. Rest. Peace. Renewal. In spring, she sends heat, light, the promise of rebirth.

Our obligation to ourselves should be no less. We have this need to make meaning with our words and we can do so by accepting this gift and working with it instead of against it.

We can give ourselves to the flow.

Don’t worry about what it is you are writing today. Take a few minutes to play with words. A fun way to spark creativity is to make a list of strong image words and use them in a short story, poem or scene. Try something new, change the meaning, come at it from a new perspective… but whatever you do, take pleasure in it.

Give yourself to the moment.

A few good words to get you started:

Slippery
Crisp
Ache
Feral
Balk
Greed
Burst
Fetid
Relic
Brusque
Vaunt
Crusty

And in honor of my daughter’s photo… Vespertine.

Today, I’m listening to Alone, Alone by Hungry Ghosts. Music clips for your pleasure here Barnes & Noble.com Music – Alone, Alone — Hungry Ghosts – CD Trying to Lift a Rock with a Bottle on Your Head is my favorite. Instrumental and supremely moody.

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in Art & Music, Favorite Posts, Helpful Writing Posts, My Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Every Day is a Fresh Start

  1. X. Dell says:

    Your daughter seems to have an interesting eye. The photograph seems to capture the greatness of the cosmos compared to the smallness marginality of man (my apologies to your husband). At the same time, the man is closer to us.

    The unconcscious mind of a young’un is a curious thing. Then again, I might be reading way to much into this, as I am wont to do.

    Either way it goes, it’s a pretty picture.

  2. I love the word feral.

    Don’t know why. Just do.

    I also like the name Hungry Ghosts.

    I’ll check out the clip.

  3. Feral is a good word because it gives you such a strong image. You can see, smell, feel it.

    Hope you like Hungry Ghosts. Not your usual instrumental– sounds like an excellent Indie film soundtrack.

    X-Dell, my daughter takes wonderful pictures. I save my favs on the computer and will probably post a few more. You’re not reading too much into it. Her perspective is unique.

  4. Betty S says:

    I’ve always liked crusty. You can so so many things with it.

  5. That’s a beautiful sunset.

    LOL on crusty, Betty 🙂

    I’m with you on feral, Heather 😉

  6. Crusty is a kind of joke in our house. We make up silly holiday songs and one was Crusty the snowman. Then later, I had to fight to keep them from naming the cat Crusty. Ew.

  7. Dana Pollard says:

    I would love to live with your family for a week, Rinda. I’d never forget the experience. (this is all good)

    The picture is great.

  8. Betty S says:

    I love the word crusty. It is a cross between crunchy and something truly vile.

  9. Lyn Cash says:

    Your daughter took a LOVELY photo, Rinda. How interesting. And I love the mindset you’re in on this post.

Leave a Reply

