Killer Schedules and 8th Grade CSI

Hi! Stopping by briefly to tell everyone I’m still alive. With kids in two different schools, we’re doing our best to keep up with the insane end of the year schedules. Tonight, I also had to take the hubby to the airport for a convention in Vegas. I also have to go back out and take my oldest to a lock-in. Late. Tomorrow, it’s over to my sister’s new place to help her unpack. I can’t remember what’s going on Sunday… maybe I’ll be able to fit some writing in.

We don’t even want to go into next week, but it’s a killer. Band banquets, graduations, parties and herding eight year-olds at a huge pizza parlor with games, golf and even a bowling alley!

I love the kiddos but I’m not loving their schools right now.

Things should get back on track here soon. In the meantime, if you want to learn a little about vampires today, I did fit in the time to write a piece for
23rd Mandalation called Vampires on the Net. You’ll recognize one of the books– the one responsible for topic winners. (g)

And here’s something you might find interesting. My daughter’s eighth grade class has been doing a CSI project. It’s a make-believe crime scene with a body and everything. She’s the photographer. She’s learned about blood splattering, fingerprinting, hair and fibers… Check out the photos. I’ll refrain from posting the body one because it’s really kind of disturbing. It’s a dummy, but it doesn’t look like one. Science has changed so much since I went to school…


Reminder: I won’t be posting the stories from the Scene From a Picture- Snarky Reader Style for another week so if anyone still wants to get something in, there’s time. Love the ones so far!!!!!

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in My Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Killer Schedules and 8th Grade CSI

  1. Your chicky darling takes wicked pictures.

    Did she ever attend OSAI for photography?

  2. No. She’s just going into highschool this fall and one of her electives is photography. They’re going to us 35 mm. Think she’s going to learn to develop the film, too.

    You should see her. She takes pictures as we’re driving down the road.

    Some of the pics for this pretend crime scene were far worse. I was surprised.

  3. X. Dell says:

    Aw, Rinda, I wish you hadn’t a done it. Did you have to do in the entire school board?

    Would I have known. . .

  4. The root beer float party was the last straw…

  5. I hear you on ‘science changing since I was in school’ {:0

    I concur with Heather. The pictures are excellent.

  6. Betty S says:

    One of the greatest antidotes to stress I have ever experienced was having my kids graduate and leave the public school system. I felt like I was constantly working on, or arguing with someone about something. My life calmed down considerably a year ago May.

    I’m still Happy Dancin’ in the streets over it.

  7. Laura says:

    When I was her age, they were making us dissect worms, squid, and pigs and collect bugs (ugh!). This would have been a preferable assignment.

  8. Sara says:

    We have half of the end of year stuff going on that you do, and it’s still exhausting. This morning we had to go through Ryan’s toys and find the perfect one for him to contribute to the bingo prize bucket for game day. Ten minutes before it’s time to leave for school, we’re looking for a 9 volt battery to make sure the toy actually worked. Should have done that last night but we were at Evan’s end of year soccer banquet, for which I had to bake two desserts because some of the freshmen parents didn’t return my call to say they would bring one. Guess what. They had more desserts than they could eat and I ended up bringing half a chocolate cake home. Got home after 9:30. Today I have to run to the store to buy strawberry topping for Ryan’s ice cream sundae party tomorrow and find some little gift for his teacher, who is an incredible teacher. Ryan really blossomed this year and run Evan’s soccer stuff to the school since he forgot to take it with him. He doesn’t have to go the last two days of school because he’s exempted from all of his finals. New policy our high-schools started this year. If they have an “A” and miss less than five days of class, they don’t have to take the final. A “B” can miss three days and a “C” can miss one day. Something like that. It’s a great motivator for kids not to miss school, but what happens when they get to college and have never taken a final before?

    Love your daughter’s pictures. From something I read from you the other day (can’t remember where now) it sounds like she really blossomed this year, too.

Leave a Reply

