Scene From a Pic– With a New Twist…

For those new to the Snark, I post a picture every ten days or so and we all write.

It can be a line, a scene, a plot– whatever that picture inspires you to write. The next time, I will post the pic again along with your writing and links to your blog or website if you prefer. It’s a great way to increase traffic to your site, but better yet, it’s a fantastic way to get that creativity loose and flowing.

My only rule is to have fun! You can post your piece in the comment section or email me at RElliott4@aol.com if you’d prefer your writing to be a surprise on unveiling day.

The new challenge follows the Snarky Reader contributions. Oh, we are going to have fun with this one…

Last Challenge Pic!

X Dell from The X Spot wrote:

Mark rose from the couch, and thought, “This is the most realistic video game I’ve ever played.”

Bellezza from Dolce Bellezza wrote:

In order to conserve on gasoline prices, the New Order thought it might be best to eliminate paved streets altogether. They thereby solved all kinds of issues, from construction costs for new tarmac, to being held hostage by oil companies, to insurance against natural disasters.

Unfortunately, a whole new problem arose: now the citizens wondered what make of watercraft to buy, which would most impress their neighbors.

Betty from Dishin’ the Dirt with my Friends wrote:

The global positioning system microchip that he’d planted on his wife had led him here, to the middle of a damn canal. His suspicions that she’d taken a lover had driven him to take such desperate measures. According to his handheld, she should be right here. But there was nothing here, just water and boats. Had she gotten wise to him and thrown it overboard? Or was she here afterall? This was the area where a number of women had been found dead. Romeo began to poke around beneath the boat. Oh, God. Oh, God. Let her be alive.
7:47 PM

Jen from Creatif wrote:

Lorenzo looked with disgust at the canal before him. He once paid the taxi boat pilots. Now he was one.

“Oh how the mighty have fallen,” he mocked himself. “Should have known that so-called cyber-robotics firm was a scam.”

Laura said…

“Glistening off the acqua, il sole…
My heart nel dolore…
Oh Venice! Oh Ve–”

“Hey, can you cut that shit out?” Mackie snapped at Madison.

“What’s your problem?” Madison asked her twin brother.

“It’s a freakin’ screen. We’re not even in Venice.”

“Whatever.”

Madison rolled her eyes and continued,
“Oh Venice! Oh Venice!
Gondola softly slosh me…”

She stopped and looked over at Mackie, with his pierced lip pushed forward in a characteristic pout.

“You are so emo,” she remarked and finished her poem.
“Falling out of la barca.”
_____________________________
And now… We’re going to try something new.

This is one of the best ways I know to get in the right mood– so to speak. There are so many different flavors to our emotions and each and every one is precious. I’ve lined up different moods for the different weeks. Let’s breathe some life into our Scene from a Pic!

So, if you can, put in earphones or shut the door to your office and turn it up. Click on the picture to bring it up large so you can study it while listening to the lush, dark music I’ve giving you this time.

I cannot wait to read the results and yes, I’ll be playing, too…
From the absolutely, fantastically talented Linda Bergkvist. Probably my all time favorite artist. furiae

And the music is by Arcana. Called Le Serpent Rouge– fitting, don’t you think? Arcana – official homepage
Click here for the music.

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in Scene From A Pic. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Scene From a Pic– With a New Twist…

  1. Anonymous says:

    ##NAME##, today I was looking for a nice blogsite onpaintball gun package and I found your website. ##TITLE## wasn’texactly what I was looking for but it did get myattention and interest. I see why I arrived on yourexcellent website when I was searching for paintball gun packagerelated information and I’m glad I did even thoughits not an exact fit. Excellent Post, thanks for theread and cool info.

  2. Rayke says:

    One look at the Godesses cleavage, and the city perished.

  3. Elaine says:

    He watched the smoke as it seeped from between her lips. And then coughed, loudly.

    “Would you mind, I’m trying to breathe here.”

    She looked down her nose at him, reached out and stubbed the cigarette out on his cheek.

    “Darling, you need more than breath to live.”

  4. Elaine says:

    By the way, thanks so much for the link to furiae and the Arcana music. I am sitting here swaying in my chair to Arcana and browsing through the pictures. And I have added some of furiae’s wallpaper to my PC.

    I think I am going to become addicted to Arcana. Oh, well, another addiction. 😉

    Elaine

  5. Agh!!!! I love it!

    I’m so glad when someone likes music I recommend!

  6. Laura says:

    My response to Jen’s response to the last Snarky Pic: *snort* *pppfffflllttt* Haha!
    (That was me accidentally snorting water up my nose, then laughing, by the way.)

  7. I love this one. What great art.

  8. Laura says:

    Elephants bedecked in silk lumbered down the street in front of the palace.

    “Milady, Tialle requests a moment.”

    Queen Cliodna looked up from the processional at her page.

    “The poet?” she asked.

    “The prophet.”

    Oh god, she thought. He’s calling himself a prophet now?

    “Admit him.”

    She turned back to the parade just in time to see Gregor the Conjuror create a dragon from stone, then send it flying into smoke.

    “Milady,” Tialle’s voice behind her. “I’ve come to ask that you release my wives.”

    “When my temple is cleared of your mercenaries, you shall have your wives.” She paused. “Except Brigitt. She belongs here.”

    Tialle lowered his eyes and nodded. Cliodna wondered at his easy submission.

    He is planning something.

    The musicians marched under the Queen’s terrace, their notes drowning out other sound as Tialle retreated.

    Queen Cliodna cast her page a glance. The page nodded, indicating that Tialle was being followed.

  9. Betty S says:

    I will post tonight or tomorrow.

  10. Betty S says:

    This post has been removed by the author.

  11. Betty S says:

    I wrote this while listening to the music. OMG I could listen to that forever. It was as if you could feel the rhythms in every cell of your being. http://www.bjargo.se/mp3/leserpentrouge.mp3

    This needs to be read slowly, enunciating each word in a slow rhythm to the music, in a deep dignified, raspy kind of voice. As if each line is given thought before it is spoken.

    I
    am the Witch.

    The rhythms
    of the Great Mother
    dance
    through my veins.

    Hot Rhythms –

    Fire

    Fire and
    Ice.

    All power is Mine.

    Power Above.
    Power Below.

    Only the foolish
    cross my path
    with malice.

    I am
    the encarnation
    of She
    Who Is
    and always has been.

    I know no fear.
    Tremble before no one.

    Fear me.

    Love me.

    I am the Witch.

  12. Betty!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    You get it!!!! You so get it!!!

    Oh man, this is fun and that, my friend, was fan-fucking-tastic!!!

  13. Pingback: Some Past Examples of SFAP « Rinda Elliott

Leave a Reply

