Scene From A Pic–Snarky Reader Style!

For those new to the Snark, I post a picture every ten days or so and let the readers write.  This is a fantastic way to loosen creativity and get that mind working.  Use the picture in a current work or write something completely different.  Try a new genre maybe!   

It can be one line, a scene or even a plot.  Sometimes a photo will inspire a poem.  Play this time or wait until a picture inspires… I’ll continue to do these because you never know when the right picture will hit you.

You can put your piece in the comments here or email them directly to me at RElliott4@aol.com .  Then, I’ll display your writing here with a link to your blog or website if you prefer. 

With the major computer down, I lost an emailed entry and I’m seriously bummed– it was a good one.  I’m going to give http://hessiandag.blogspot.com/  a link anyway because he worked hard on that entry.  Check out his Cafe Press Store– I particularly like the Mandala shirts in the hand drawn section.  http://www.cafepress.com/uniqueboy

The new picture will be at the end of this post.  Take your time… you’ll have more than a week to get creative.  And I’ve been so busy on my book, I didn’t write for this last one either.  Shame on me.  But I did for the one before… <g>

The last photo:

 

Art by Melissa Ng http://www.epilogue.net/cgi/database/art/list.pl?gallery=12362 Her home page isn’t working but keep an eye on this artist.  She’s good!

Laura from Mad Below My Feet wrote:

“Wow. They weren’t kidding, were they, when they said this batch of androids was practically indestructible?”

“Beautiful…”

“And sturdy! Dude, did you see her take out that Dementoroptictrix?”

“What are the current laws on marrying robots. Is it still illegal?”

“Well, I think it depends on the galaxy but–
Wait. Man, that’s just weird.”

Here’s the new picture!

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in Scene From A Pic. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Scene From A Pic–Snarky Reader Style!

  1. relliott4 says:

    We used to have huge participation on Scene From a Pic– but occasionally, certain pics inspire nothing. Check back because I do this often. And if you have time, there are some past hilarious entries in the category to the right. Unfortunately, Blogger isn’t letting the pictures transfer and they’re all on my crashed desktop. I’m working on searching them down.

  2. Betty S says:

    The highway to heaven.

  3. Bellezza says:

    Rinda, as usual, an exciting picture. It makes me want to go there now, just to see what’s on the other side. What IS on the other side?

  4. Bellezza says:

    Wait, could it have something to do with House? Are you meeting Hugh Laurie in private?

  5. relliott4 says:

    Why don’t you write about what’s on the other side? (g)

    I just can’t see poor Dr. House hobbling along a beach. But… he would be hot doing so…

  6. Betty S says:

    Fifteen years of imprisonment, locked in an underground bunker that Sophie thought most certainly would become her tomb, had left her eyes sensitive to bright lights, or any light at all. The 15 watt bulbs illuminating what had become her world hundreds of feet below ground had provided limited vision and left her with little memory of how bright the sun could be.

    Sophie had resigned herself to the life of a mole destined to dwell forever in the darkest recesses of Earth. But today, less than an hour ago, the captors had left. There was no explanation, no congratulations you are free, no apologies for robbing her of a decade and a half of living, they just vanished. There was the electronic click of the doors unlocking. Gradually, she and the others emerged from their cells and made their way up to the surface and the large metal door that stood between them and the world.

    A tall rail thin black man threw his weight against a large metal lever and what appeared as a silver wall began to slide into the recesses of the stone to the right. Light began to flood the spot where Sophie stood. She took one step. Then another. The stinging in her eyes was almost unbearable. Almost.

    She had lived below ground so long that she had nearly lost the idea of freedom. But now as she stared into the space of open air, freedom smelled sweet. Pungent as wheat fields. Clean as rain.

    A railed pathway lay before her. It and led to a “where” that she did not know. Not true. She did know. It led to life. It led to her future. It led to home. Sophie blinked and wiped the tears from her stinging eyes. She did the thing she had to do, the thing her soul screamed for. She took a step and then another and then another until she was running as hard and as fast as she could to whatever lay ahead.

  7. xdell says:

    I think this picture inspire’s something. I’ll send it to you.

  8. Carol Shenold says:

    Canson cowered under dark trees. Colors could blind you if you followed the path. Outside, away from tree protection, you could go mad. She never wanted anything so badly in her 100 years on earth as she did that journey into the world on the other side of the forest. Fear flooded in as she reached out her hand.

    Araby screamed. “Don’t. You’ll burn. You know what happens when the light comes. This will be so much worse. We’ll lose you forever.”

    Canson turned her back to the light for a moment, touched her baby sister’s cheek. “You will never lose me. I’ll always come back. Take care of everyone–take care of Marcus.”

    Canson turned,walked into the light and disappeared on the other side of the green. She didn’t burn, not then.

  9. relliott4 says:

    Agh!!! These are great! You guys all seriously rock. I can’t wait to post these. 🙂

Leave a Reply

