Where It All Begins

bench.jpg

“Great are they who see that thoughts rule the world.”

                                                   Ralph Waldo Emerson

Everything begins and ends with thought.  We think to create, to achieve, to live.  Positive thoughts keep us happy and healthy.  A negative thought can be like a disease that when left alone can spread and eventually destroy.

Writers pull out that blank sheet of paper or face that computer screen and wait for a thought to form.  (I’ve also heard this described as waiting for a drop of blood to form on their foreheads.)  They take that one thought and manipulate it, mold it, until hopefully, it becomes more than one. 

We get our fiction from thought, then we sometimes turn around and yes, over-think our words until we aren’t sure they’re real.

Ever pull out something you wrote and barely recognize it?  You might not even remember writing it.   Ever spend a day writing complete crap then stumble upon something you wrote that’s good?  Really good? 

I’ve been doing this lately.  Finding bits and pieces of scenes that just pulse and vibrate with life.  I even found scenes for my current WIP that I jotted down last year while working on something else.

I’m thinking of putting them into a collage and posting them on my office wall as a constant reminder that yes, I am capable of good writing at times.  They’ll also remind me that most of those pieces came when I was relaxed and doing something else– that out of nowhere, there came this one, pure, shining thought. 

A thought that took root and grew.  

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in Helpful Writing Posts, My Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Where It All Begins

  1. I think you need a break. And maybe a bubble bath, or a chocolate bar. 😉

  2. relliott4 says:

    I’ll get a break this weekend. From writing anyway. Huge Halloween costume party with lots of people. So, I’ll be cleaning all day before and all day after. LOL!

    Um, chocolate. I think I have a Milky Way around here somewhere…

  3. ccasey007 says:

    I have got some of those old manuscripts that I don’t remember writing too. Each one is in a folder or notebook with a huge rubberband around it so the little slips of paper won’t fall out and stuck on a shelf, under the bed, in the back of the filing cabinet, etc., you get the picture. I have been pulling them out and am suprised that some of them are actually good (maybe I should say have potential since I really didn’t have a clue what I was doing when I was starting out). I am pulling them out for the STBP contest that OKRWA has. Hoping to find one that the first 10 pages are good enough (with some tweaking)to submit. I think the collage is a good idea. I have cartoons, little sayings and bits of dialogue that I don’t want to forget taped all over my wall in front of my desk. It is a mess but it inspires me at times.

  4. I pulled out soem things I first wrote years ago and had a “damn!” moment. My voice was much stronger when I was innocent.

  5. relliott4 says:

    I think that’s the case for a lot of writers. I finished one book after another before I learned the “rules” and tried to follow them. Unlearning them is incredibly hard.

    Now, my technique in that beginning stuff is just awful, but there’s so much more heart and yes, voice.

    You know Chrystal, I’m thinking of submitting to the STBP this year. Haven’t in years. 🙂

Leave a Reply

