Snagged!

color_13.jpg

Hit a snag.  After that incredible first day word count, nothing.  We had several huge family issues hit us at once on Thursday, so the last couple of days were the kind I hope never to experience again.

Sometimes life smacks us around, bites our ass then hangs around gnawing for awhile.  No worries, I fought back after that first day or so of stunned helplessness, yanked it off and put things back into perspective.

Now, I have to make up the words to hit that average I need to make my goal.  You see, I’m hoping to pitch one on one with an agent in March, so this book has to be ready to go by then. 

Since I nearly doubled that first day count, if I add 500 words to that 2500 daily goal for a few days, I should be able to make it up quickly.  Plus, I hadn’t planned to work Sundays, but I’m changing that decision. 

Life issues or not, I’m looking at this as a job.  Granted, I don’t get paid much for it yet, but I’m ever hopeful that will change in the future. <g>

It’s been a long time since I shared weekend art and music.  You will have the most wonderful time exploring this artist’s galleries and the prints are reasonable!

thecrybaby.jpg  I love finding an artist who can give me perfectly emotive photographs that inspire fictional characters.  This is a great example.  I’d love to write her story.  The artist is Crybaby.  Click on the name to explore, there’s a link on the page for Browse Gallery and look for Water Nymph. Wow.  Various styles of art, but all extremely talented.

And for music, she isn’t signed yet, but keep an eye on Kate Nash.  http://www.myspace.com/katenashmusic Merry Happy is smart and fun and if you’re in the mood for something stripped down, yet lovely, listen to the Nicest Thing.

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in Art & Music, My Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Snagged!

  1. Word Doctor says:

    Rinda,

    Oohh, this will be fun. I love these pics, and the one with dude’s head buried in his hands really gets to me. I have felt that way many times, both as a writer and an editor.

    Hey, just some encouragement…don’t value what you do by the amoung of money you make. Money is a trap, and if you focus on your passion, money will become a manageable tool.

    Hope all is well.

  2. Word Doctor says:

    oooppsss…I meant, “amount,” not “amoung.” What the hell does amoung mean?

  3. What is in March? Where are you pitching?

  4. relliott4 says:

    They announced in OKRWA last year that in March they’d be bringing in an agent and editor. In fact, the formal announcement went on the loop today.

    Word Doctor, I understand the value/writing/money issue. Some of my favorite published pieces gave me nothing more than satisfaction. But… it would be nice to make this a way to make a living at some point. I know my husband would love that.

  5. Word Doctor says:

    Rinda,

    I am a seasoned pro regarding the marriage thing (take that for what it’s worth). Even spouses, in my opinion, shouldn’t determine your work’s value…my last wife (bless her heart) loved the money, but grew tired of explaining what an “editor” really does, so she split. Along with half of my stuff.

    I guess all that I am saying is that the money will come if you stay focused on your vison, and don’t let other influences change its definition. I am sure you already know what I am talking about, however…

    All the best, and haven’t seen you at my place in a while…what gives? 😉

  6. Rinda says:

    I’ve been there. I’ve had trouble commenting on sites, but you’re on my bloglines, so I hit your blog every time it’s updated.

    I’ve been a writer for many, many years, though I did quit for quite a few right in the middle. I don’t focus on money as I’m writing–I’d go nuts But I think it’s been on the mind lately since we’ve been unemployed awhile.

  7. Word Doctor says:

    Dig…dig. Well, I am sure I don’t need to tell you that writing is NOT the place to gather your hopes, especially financial ones. Like the music industry, publishing companies are going crazy trying to keep the control they have had for so long. However, as you and I know being bloggers, the idea of people going to K-Mart and spending twenty bucks on a book is OVER. Electronic publication is the next step, and those with their heads in the sand will perish.

    Did you guys get a bunch of snow with the storms?

  8. Rinda says:

    No, it hit north of us. They’re predicting storms this weekend. I can’t wait! I love them.

    I love ebooks. So convenient.

Leave a Reply

