Store News and Word Goals

alien.jpg

I wore this shirt tonight to grocery shop.  It so fit the mood since I despise grocery shopping.  But… I love having the house full of food. 

Always a trade-off, eh? 

And since I wasn’t in the mood for canned Air Supply, I played Korn, Disturbed and Family Force Five on the Ipod.  With my hair in a pony-tail on top of my head, the shirt and the inevitable “wha ah ah ah” noise I always make to Disturbed, I freaked out a couple of the teenagers unloading meat products. 

That’s always fun.

I spent a little time shuffling things around in my store.  Dumped some designs I didn’t like and moved the best-selling items to the top.  I wish I knew who spread the word on the Need Coffee design because it did well in December.  I also wish I’d moved the sleep waves version in Dark Snark up since it’s my favorite version of this saying.  I do have statmeters, but a ton of traffic came from private email loops.  And I am so loving these new long sleeved Ts.  Good material.

Alas, I am behind on my word goals!  Yesterday, I spent the entire day at the bank since some strange company was withdrawing money from my account.  Had to close accounts, open new ones and since I never stop until I understand the “why” of something, I spent hours on the phone tracking the f**… um, I mean the people down.  Needless to say, I was a little angry the rest of the day.

But today was good.  I’m behind on the word goal, but we’ve set it up so I can really go to town the rest of the week.   Think I’ll wear this shirt tomorrow.  I bought some chocolate velvet coffee…

coffeeshirt.jpg

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in My Store Posts!, My Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Store News and Word Goals

  1. Terri says:

    OMG…I do the SAME exact freakin’ noise to Disturbed. August either finds it exceeding annoying (like when he’s in the middle of a football game), or strangely endearing. I don’t think he’s made up his mind yet. That’s what he gets for buying me an iPod!! LOL.

    Bummer on the bank stuff…we had that happen about six months ago and I was MUY pissed off. Got all of our money back, but it still made me really cranky, which is never a good thing *g*…

    Terri

  2. relliott4 says:

    I want my own iPod. I had borrowed my daughter’s. That thing is fun! My husband hasn’t found the Disturbed noise endearing. The last time I did it, he slowly backed out of the room.

    We’ll get our money back. I think it was a weird mixup, but it was just too upsetting.

  3. Word Doctor says:

    I had you pegged as a “Korn” girl form the start! I can see you in line, slapping huge cellophane/styrofoam-wrapped steaks onto the conveyor belt, rocking your head back and forth with pony tail flying, not giving a damn if anybody is watching you or not! Nice job, and way to live!

    Sorry ’bout your troubles, but it sounds like you have a handle on it.

    Doc

  4. Ha! I listened to Korn and Disturbed last night too!

    And mmmmm… Chocolate velvet coffee!

  5. RElliott4 says:

    I’m also a Portishead girl and my all time favorite band is Over the Rhine– which is so far removed from Korn, it’s funny.

    I just love most music. I also listen to a lot of instrumental stuff while writing. There are a ton of music posts in that category.

    In fact, the very first post on this blog was a playlist of some of my favorite bands. I subscribe to independent music sites, magazines… Jeez. I sound like a fanatic.

  6. Word Doctor says:

    Well, this may be of some interest to you, then. My alter ego (man, I was heavy when those pics were taken!). Over the Rhine is very cool…for an Oakie, you’re pretty damn open minded!

  7. relliott4 says:

    You know, you aren’t the first person to use that phrase. There are quite a few open-minded Okies. heh heh

    But… I’ve lived all over the country, too. I had a very open-minded upbringing.

    I will most definitely check out your link. My family is heavily into music. My brother has a band called Psymbience, if you want to check them out. I’ve written about them in the art and music category.

  8. relliott4 says:

    I checked out your music. Very, very nice. I love that genre!

    Glad to hear you know of OTR. I will never figure out why they aren’t more well-known. I know, radio friendly songs, etc… but their talent steals my breath.

  9. sniv says:

    That shirt is AWESOME (the coffee one). Next time I get paid, I may have to order.

Leave a Reply

