Bird Snark?

You come here for writing and you get birds.   

But, I have bird snark.  Really.

With the sleet piling up a clean, sharp white outside my window, the birds constantly catch the eye.  It’s not easy getting them on film.  They swoop in and out fast.  So I tore up a piece of bread to try and entice them. 

 yum-bread.jpg

This little guy was bracing against a powerful blast of sleet. 

brrr.jpg

Look at this squatty, fat thing.  He turned and eyeballed me right after this shot.

fat-guy.jpg

  eyball.jpg

Bird Snark.

funny-guy.jpg

 Most definite bird snark–because I swear that pic was of his face.

butt.jpg 

Yeah, it’s lovely scaffolding.  We’re doing work on the house.  But this little one was cute.  He had just hidden a nut inside it.

little-guy.jpg

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in My Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Bird Snark?

  1. Missy says:

    How do those little creatures brace themselves in this crap? I freeze just looking out the window at it.

  2. Poor wittle birdies. I miss have a feeder, but my dog would eat the seeds that fell to the ground (along with the bird droppings which made him ill) so it had to go.

    My trees look like swavorski crystal. We are supposed to get up to an inch tonight. I was not prepared because no one thought we were going to get hit.

    Damn it!

  3. relliott4 says:

    When it got really bad, they’d hover in sheltered areas of trees, then when it let up, they’d come down to eat quickly.

    Heather, we were supposed to get crystal trees and so far, we just have a build up of sleet. But more is coming tonight and tomorrow, so we’ll see.

    Man, I can’t believe it hit you guys so far south! Stay warm and safe inside. 🙂

  4. Nik says:

    I loved the birds! It’s so refreshing to see bright flashes of crimson in the dead of winter. All I have hovering around my house are ravens and really nasty mockingbirds.

  5. relliott4 says:

    We have huge crows that tend to take over the yard at times. I think they’re beautiful, tho. The best birds in my yard are a hawk pair. I haven’t spotted them in a couple of weeks, but talk about huge. There are a tons of pretty birds still haning out– I need to catch the blue jays, too.

  6. We get yellow finches coming in to feed.

    Yellow finches in the snow…

    I can’t capture them without a good telephoto– which I don’t have…

  7. relliott4 says:

    Oh, yellow finches in the snow must look incredible!

  8. Betty S says:

    I am a major bird lover. I don’t know how they survive this crap. I’m miserable and I’ve been on lockdown in the house for the last 3 days.

  9. relliott4 says:

    I have some amazing birds out there right now, Betty. Wish I could tell you all the kinds. There are these tiny ones with black, white and grey–they’re stunning. Do you know what kind is in that last pic?

Leave a Reply

