Attainable Magic

hand-light.jpg

Last week, I talked about setting and typing up parts of a favorite book to better understand the flow of words.  One of the Snarky readers, Word Doctor, agreed that it’s a great way to study mechanics. 

There is another plus to this practice.

Have you ever picked up a book and been utterly enchanted by the arrangement of words, the attitude, the very talent on the pages?  When you take that book and type it onto your screen–not the whole book, just a page or two–you’ll understand something more than mere mechanics.

You see, some of the magic goes away. 

You’ll see that work laid out as the author did.  Yes, it helps with the understanding of mechanics and flow, but you’ll also see exactly what made the words pop.

You’ll see that maybe this gig isn’t as hard as you sometimes think– that maybe you can do this.  Not in the same way–uh, no, that would not be good— but in a way that’s yours.  Individual and talented.

Your individual and talented style.

Now, someone hit me for using the word POP.

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in My Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Attainable Magic

  1. Heather says:

    I was going to give you snaps for using the word pop, but I’m clueless. 😉

  2. relliott4 says:

    My husband was addicted to HGTV forever! The designers freaking loved that word and it began to bother even the kids. Now, we only use the word in our house to give each other a hard time.

    Wait… are snaps good or bad?

  3. Heather says:

    Lol. They were good according to “Cher”. (Alicia Silverstone in the movie Clueless. The 90’s Valley Girl movie.) Must be where HGTV picked up the phrase.

  4. Word Doctor says:

    Nice article. POP is what it is…a good story should POP right in your face, almost like it’s writing itself. Aside from mechanics, I think developing one’s ears and eyes is a benefit from this practice as well.

    Nice post. Hope things are good in Oklahoma.

    -Doc

  5. Missy says:

    I haven’t attempted to type parts of my favorite books but it sounds like a worthwhile endeavor. If I ever kick this headache, I’ll give it a whirl.

  6. relliott4 says:

    Missy, I don’t get migraines often, but I when I do, they last and last and make me miserable. I sincerely hope yours vanishes quickly.

    Things are fine, Doc–and you?

  7. They use snaps as a way of giving props in the second Legally Blonde movie too 🙂

  8. blogless_troll says:

    But should you really give props to pop with snaps?

  9. relliott4 says:

    All we need is crackle, eh?

  10. Word Doctor says:

    Yes, and a little (skim) milk.

  11. Joyce Carey– The Horse’s Mouth

    His first page is an amazing must read. So if I were to recommend a typing project, it would be that…

Leave a Reply

