Today Is All About Goofing Off

picture-022.jpg

I’m funny about posting pics of my kids.  Meaning, I won’t.  But this one is okay.  My sweet little scary man. 

So, I have lots of work to do.  I wasted an incredible amount of time yesterday and feel much shame over it.  <g>  So, because I need all my brain function for writing the monster word count I have planned today,  I’m taking the easy way out and giving you funnies.  This one is from Betty.  I don’t know the author–wish it had been me.

 “SNOW-klahoma”  Sing with me!

SNOW-klahoma,
where the cold fronts sweepin’ down the plain;
And the piles of sleet beneath your feet
Follow right behind the freezing rain.

SNOW-klahoma,
Ev’ry night my honey lamb and I
Travel home from work and hope some jerk
Doesn’t wreck our car in passing by.

 We know we belong to the land
 But it could use more salt and more sand!

 And when we say
 Yeeow! Ayipioeeay!
 We’re only sayin’ you’re slick as snot,
 SNOW-klahoma!
 SNOW-klahoma, Oy Vey!

__________________________

And here is the best time waster. Ever. You can manipulate the words to make it work. Oh and try different voices–some have better pronunciation than others.  I had so much fun with it yesterday when I should have been working, I sent Heather two birthday wishes, tortured my sister at her office all afternoon, bugged a friend in North Carolina and cheered up a critique partner. 

Uh… once you get the voices down, it doesn’t take that long to make one– I swear I didn’t do this all day…  Monk -e-mail.

Some of the ones I sent were a little raunchy, so maybe I shouldn’t share.  Except this one.  My sister had responded to one of them with an email with one word on it.  Dork.  She called me a dork.  Brat.  Here’s my response.

http://www.careerbuilder.com/monk-e-mail/?mid=18718765

 

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in My Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Today Is All About Goofing Off

  1. LOL. I was humming the Oklahoma tune in my head while I was reading the lyrics }:)

  2. It started snowing while I was waiting in teh car pick-up lane to get my kids from school. It’s gorgeous. And, my oldest lost a tooth today. He had dropped it in “centers” in his classroom. It’s all covered in glue and blue marker. 😉 lol.

  3. Betty S says:

    Ben and I heard the DJ singing it on the radio today. Then he Booed himself. It was hysterical.

  4. ~pinkie says:

    Oh my gosh, monk mail is too hilarious!! I sent one to my former co-workers to brighten their day. Thanks, girl!

    Laura, I wish I could send you snow. I heard there was a woman in Colorado selling some on e-bay…

  5. relliott4 says:

    We didn’t end up with that much snow, Laura. 😦 I love it and wanted a lot!

    Pinkie, that monk-e-mail thing is incredible. I wish I could post some of the hilarious ones my sister and I traded, but like I said… we’re really weird sometimes. Her whole office got into it and now they’re all monk-e-mailing each other. It’s hilarious!

Leave a Reply

