Life Flies

road.jpg

There’s this adult alternative music channel on our cable network.  They play artists like Kt Tunstall, Ray LaMontagne, Corrinne Bailey Rae, Sufjan Stevens, The Colour, Regina Spektor… you get the idea.  In addition to the contemporary pieces, they play a lot of music from the nineties and eighties. 

While I was typing madly away to make up for not making my goal yesterday (My shoulder tanked and froze up my right arm–I was stuck to a heating pad for hours.) Brian Ferry’s Slave to Love came on. 

Of course, I stopped.  Man, it’s amazing what memories a song can bring to mind.  I sat there, feeling both happy and poignantly sad.  So much time has passed and I’m nothing like the young girl I was when I loved this song in the eighties. 

But I had this instant recollection of riding in the middle seat of my boyfriend’s vehicle at night, his arm around my shoulders and Brian Ferry loud on the radio.  I remembered the cool, evening breeze coming in from the open windows and the passing lights that reflected off his smile before he dropped a kiss on my cheek.  For just that instant, I was pulled back into the emotion of that moment when we had our whole future ahead of us and not a care in the world–outside of how very much in love we were.

We’re still together–still love each other, but our lives are so different now.  I can’t remember the last time we went for a ride at night and listened to music.  Just because.

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in My Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Life Flies

  1. Dana Pollard says:

    When I work on a WIP I tend to make a soundtrack. Its mood music for me. The song that was playing while Deirdre was at the bar in NYC was “Boom Boom” by Paul Lekakis. 🙂 hehe

  2. relliott4 says:

    I’m ashamed to say I don’t know that one, so I’m off to look it up. I make soundtracks, too. I’ve had trouble with my current WIP though–maybe it’s because I never settled on one soundtrack. 🙂

  3. X. Dell says:

    Well, you can always buy the CD and make time to take off. That might be like old times.

    Funny that you should post about this. I’d just read another blog post about the exact same thing, how music could take one back to a certain place and time.

  4. relliott4 says:

    I think I have the CD somewhere. It would be harder to talk my husband into just going for a drive. heh heh

  5. Yes, it flies pretty gosh dern fast alright…

  6. Terri says:

    To start with, I’m SO sorry to hear about your shoulder!! That completely sucks, and I hope you’re feeling better, love!

    Ah, music…I’m positive that’s why I’m at a stopping point in my WIP (sigh). I categorically refuse to believe that I’ve become a slave to my hormones *g*.

    I think, as authors, lots of us are obsessed with music…methinks it’s the creative process. It’s not so diff with music, they just have to boil down the concept in much more concise ideas!

    When I think back to my senior year in high school, it’s Sunglasses at Night and anything by The Cars. Damn, am I dating myself, or what? LOL.

    Terri

  7. relliott4 says:

    Nope. Our song was Drive by the Cars and I remember many a night wearing my sunglasses.

    Man, I loved the Cars. Still have all the albums.

  8. I have Cars on my iPod. 🙂

    I hope your shoulder is better. Body aches bite.

    My husband and I have only used a babysitter once, so I really relate to the “just because” moments being missed.

  9. Bellezza says:

    It’s funny how a song can make you freeze…how one “little” song can flood you with so many memories. There are a few artists I can’t bear to hear anymore because the person I lost, while listening to them, is far too painful. I’m so happy you’re with the one you are.

  10. relliott4 says:

    Well, Bellezza, I wish I could say it’s all been easy with us but as with any long-term relationship, there have been rough spots. We’re just stubborn.

    I have a few of those songs that I identify with bad memories though. A couple that were real favorites before and I hate that I can’t listen to them now.

    Heather! A babysitter once!!! You need a once a month date night. But, I’m just as guilty letting those times go by. It is easier now with a built in babysitter.

Leave a Reply

