Blogger/WordPress

This conversation has popped up on several blogs lately, so I thought I’d ask you guys. 

I have more options on WordPress, don’t have the image issues I had on Blogger and I can do all sorts of neat things with my sidebars.  Plus, I love the Blogstats pages.

However, I’m starting to think there is more than one way to be on WordPress because others have had issues. 

But my question is about commenting.  Is it easier to comment on WordPress or Blogger?  For me, I have to sign in every time to comment on a Blogger blog–even though I have one. But I saw over the weekend that people without WordPress accounts have trouble commenting here.  Do you? (And can you even comment to answer? <g>)

I’m thinking I might just post each time to both–I still have my Blogger page.  Can’t be that hard to copy it over there, too.  I know several writers who keep a Livejournal account in addition to their other blogs. 

I did have a nice writing post for you guys today, but I’m remembering people who commented on Blogger who didn’t (or maybe couldn’t) follow me here and I’m thinking I might like keep up with them, too. 🙂

Edit:  I’ve unchecked the comment author sign in option to see if this makes it easier for people to comment.

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Blogger/WordPress

  1. Jen says:

    On your “Options” tab, under “Discussion” and “Before a comment appears:”, what do you have checked?

    I’ve unmarked everything but “Comment Author Must Fill Out Name and E-mail.” The other two are unchecked.

    I’ve not had any problems commenting on anyone’s blog on WordPress. I can’t say the same for Blogger. I have issues with them quite often. I have decided I will never use Blogger for anything other than commenting on others’ blogs.

  2. relliott4 says:

    That’s how I have it set up, too. I think they have problems with having to type in their name and email every time. But, I’m wondering if those without a WordPress account have to do even more.

    I’m hoping the new Blogger is more user friendly, so I’m going to post there for the people who prefer it. I may change my mind since the conversations could get confusing and it might make the Scene from a Pic a nightmare.

  3. Jen says:

    From friends who have blogger, it’s not any more user friendly than before. It was touted that it would be, but that doesn’t appear to be the case so far.

    I’ll check with a couple friends who don’t have WP blogs and see if that’s all they have to do or what. If there are too many hoops to jump through, I don’t have a problem with unchecking even that box if it makes things easier. I have it checked because I reply via e-mail to their comments as well since a lot of them don’t check back on the blog to see if I’ve replied. Just something I started doing after switching to WP.

  4. carol says:

    I haven’t had any trouble posting here. In fact, I’ve liked this site so much I’ve considered actually attempting to do my own blog, except for not knowing exactly how to start.
    Carol

  5. relliott4 says:

    I’m testing the new “no sign in” option.

    Hi Carol! All I did was go to WordPress.com and take it from there. They walk you through it. I think it’s after you register. It’s been a while. 🙂

  6. I don’t have any actual trouble commenting on wordpress blogs. I just don’t like having to type my information in every time. But I also don’t like word verification on Blogger, and am unlikely to comment if I have to do that.

    On Blogger, I only have to sign in once a day, and it remembers me until I log off or turn off my computer. That’s how it’s supposed to be on LJ too, but LJ hates me and won’t let me log in for anything except posting, and even then it logs me right back off. I hate LJ.

    I’m on Blogger because I much prefer their templates over both LJ and WordPress, and with the new Blogger, changing the template is a real cinch. You can even see the changes as you make them, without having to reload anything. And I can put anything I want in my sidebars.

    There’s my two cents. But for the record, I’ll follow you anywhere you go. 😉

  7. I switched from Blogger to my WordPress.org site/blog in the latter half of January and I love it 🙂 In terms of commenting, I never had any problems commenting on your WordPress blog when I was on Blogger. With the new Blogger I find that there is a lot of signing in to do to comment on other blogs, be they old or new Blogger, and this is with a Blogger account.

    Blogger has a lot of great features, but in terms of commenting I find WordPress easier 🙂

  8. If I really want to comment on a blog, I’ll do what I need to. Period. If someone is being a Blogger snob or a WP snob and simply won’t comment on a blog because of where it’s hosted, it’s their loss. (I’m not an LJ snob, just have not opened an account yet. I’m lazy.)

    I don’t get all the fits about signing into Blogger because I have not experienced them. I only need to sign in once. If I hop WP blogs, I have to sign in every time.

    I might even begin moderating comments so no one has to use the word verification. Maybe.

    And, I’ve seen some nice three column templates available for Blogger. If you don’t want to give that up, you can find something you like.

  9. relliott4 says:

    Did you have to sign in this time? I changed it so no one has to sign in to comment. I’m wondering if it worked.

    I don’t plan to move back to Blogger. I love this blog. 🙂 But I might post some of the stuff from here there just because I still get traffic there regularly. I already changed it over to the new version and put in all my book and store links to the side.

    As for fits. I don’t really consider it a fit but I do have to sign in more than once quite often. Maybe it’s because I have a program that pulls cookies fast. Doesn’t matter. I’m just curious after seeing so many conversations on it lately.

  10. I hope you didn’t think I was saying you were havng a fit…lol.

    I recently commented on a blog where the owner had switched to the new blogger, and she was receiving all sorts of complaints from users about their own personal transitions. I think because everyone has different strengths/competency when it comes to operating anything online, you are not going to get an across the board view on ease of use. 🙂

  11. relliott4 says:

    No doubt. Everyone has a different opinion on blog programs. As much as I love this one, I still miss some of the things about Blogger. I liked being able to manipulate the font size and color easier. Small thing, but I liked it.

  12. X. Dell says:

    Obviously, I have a WordPress account, but I’ve never used it to comment on The Write Snark. If others have issues with it, I’d be curious to find out what they are.

  13. relliott4 says:

    I never have, so that’s why I posted. I was hoping to figure out what the problems are…but it seems that people have trouble with one or the other in equal amounts. One isn’t better than the other I guess.

Leave a Reply

