Ten Weird Facts

Ten Weird Facts About Me

I know I’m supposed to tag ten people but I don’t want to.  🙂

1. I’ve lived all over the U.S and that includes a weird commune in the Ozark Mountains during my puberty years. Bleh.  But, I learned young that while communism is a nice ideal, it’s not a feasible one–not when there are always people who expect more for less work.  Bad personalities, ego and greed– they exist even in the nicest of communities.

2.  The only days I really relax are those when I don’t have to go anywhere.  So… I’m hardly ever relaxed.

3. I met my future husband at the age of thirteen.  He dated my nineteen year-old friend.  He’s 7 1/2 years older than I am.  

4. I’m a complete hypocrite when it comes to my daughter and will not let her date someone that much older until she’s past eighteen and can do her own thing. 

5. I’m not into shopping much.  I like having new things, but I pick fast so I don’t have to hang in the store that long.  And I hate furniture shopping with my husband.  He has to look, think, look, think, compare, look, think…  I know immediately whether I want something and then I want out of the store!  I love shopping online because it’s quick and convenient.  Unfortunately, the bad part of that is how very easy it is.

6. I suffer from extreme times of self-doubt despite past writing sales. 

7. I love trying new wines but don’t enjoy wine tastings.  I prefer to meet with my sisters and have us all bring something new. 

8. That whole toilet paper up or down argument is a stupid, idiotic waste of time.  I just leave the damned thing on the counter anyway.

9. I prefer movies when I watch television.  My husband prefers HGTV.  I loved Star Trek The Next Generation so much, I raced home daily not to miss a minute.  He races for Designed to Sell.  I love spending a day playing video games.  He’d rather bleach the floors and rearrange the closets.  We live in an alt-universe.

10. I absolutely hate receiving emails that tell me to forward something, ask me not to break the chain or want me to add my name to the end of something.  I delete them immediately.  So, if it says something like you know who your friends are if they send this piece of crap back… don’t count me there.  I may be your friend, I just never read the email. <g>

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in My Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Ten Weird Facts

  1. Dana Pollard says:

    I put my toilet paper on the counter too. The hubby likes it under and I like it over. It’s a never ending battle, so I give up. Besides, you don’t have to fight with the spring thingie in the tube to hold it in place. 🙂

  2. I’m so with you on #10.

    If you love (enter deity here) you will fwd this to ten people. If your heart is made out of stone, pretend you never read this email.

    I guess I’m going to hell. Oh wait, I don’t believe in hell. Ha!

    (And I’ll love my diety however I please, thank you very much.)

  3. I have diet on the brain…

    That last one should be dEIty.

    Yes, Dana. I pulled a Heather.

  4. relliott4 says:

    Dana, I hate that spring thingie. Hate it. Besides, our holder is really low and nearly behind the stupid toilet. Why bother when there’s a nice, handy counter right there, eh? Drives my husband crazy.

    Heather, I think you might be the first Catholic I’ve met who doesn’t believe in hell. In fact, I recently told a very good friend of mine, also Catholic, that I didn’t and I wish I could describe the look on her face. She looked like she thought I was headed there fast. Looked kind of scared. Poor thing. She just doesn’t know how to take me sometimes. 🙂

  5. Dana Pollard says:

    We’re still in the life-long process of re-doing our house. The girls’ bathroom is one of the rooms we’ve yet to tackle. Their toilet paper holder doesn’t even have one side to it, so the spring thingie is pointless. lol

    Heather… love your diety. Pulling “heathers” rocks. I do it all the blasted time. hehe

  6. I don’t want to worship/love/believe in God because I fear hell (as a physical place). I believe hell is seperation from God, a state of mind.

    And Pope John Paul II along with Billy Graham have suggested the same thing…

    I could be wrong, but so what? It doesn’t determine my actions.

  7. Having worked around great wineries, I LOVE WINE TASTING.

    It was during these times that I learned about GOOD wine, verses just wine.

    By placing wines side by side, you get to understand the nuances that actually exist in wines.

    For a thug like me, it was truly an education…

    TP belongs on the counter. Standing on an end…

  8. scooper says:

    I’m with you on #10. I have a cousin that forwards like crazy, making me, yep you guessed it, crazy. Oh BTW, have I mentioned how bad I suck at working with commas?

  9. X. Dell says:

    (1) I will never send you a chain letter. For that matter, I will never send you a chain smoker.

    (2) Was your husband part of this communist commune in the Ozarks?

    (3) Most creative people I know have self-doubt, more than those who are completely unimaginative. That doesn’t seem fair, but it’s often true.

    (4) I’m not much of a video game player, these days. I still have my 8-bit Nintendo hooked up to the TV. That thing is almost twenty years old.

  10. relliott4 says:

    No, I met my husband after the whole disastrous incident. We ended up running out of that place in the middle of the night. Of course, he wasnt’ my husband for a while… and he dated my older friend first.

    I would like to play video games, but I hardly ever make the time. I did a couple of weeks ago with my son and had such a nice time. I should make more time.

Leave a Reply

