Spur the Imagination–Lose Sleep

sleepy.jpg

I didn’t shut down that late last night.  I typed my last page and hit 3000 words around 12:30.  Man, I was happy with myself for sticking to my guns, but this picture pretty much shows how I felt about that time I turned the puter off.

Until I got into bed!  My mind would not shut down!!!  It was noisily crackling with energy and ideas. 

Did I give the new character the wrong look? 

Why did I open up a new possibility of deep-assed research? 

Wait, I can’t use that character trait because my CP had something similar recently! 

And since I’m on chapter fifteen, shouldn’t there be a freaking all-the-way love scene by now??? 

I’ll have to go back and thread a lot more sexual tension in my secondary romance plot… 

Am I ever going to just fall asleep?????

Two hours later, I’m in that weird stage of ‘not’ sleep where you’re highly annoyed and you’ve drifted off a couple of times only to have your mind start playing tricks on you.

I was hearing everything from my husband chewing his own teeth, to this stupid, loud, twittering bird who must have been in some sort of smack down with the barking squirrel.

Then, I would drift off and awaken to that, eerie, middle-of-the-night silence–you know the one–and the feeling that someone was standing over me. 

Agh! I would sit up, my eyes scanning the room, my heart pounding–fear a heavy lump in my throat. 

It was the silliest thing ever!!!  But by three in the morning, I was just plain pissed.  Kind of like I was when I watched American Idol last night.  I’ve always known reality shows were nothing but useless bunk and now I’m sure of it. 

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in My Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Spur the Imagination–Lose Sleep

  1. Lucidity is over-rated. 😉

    Are you referrring to a certain gentleman that was not (17 yr old) voted off last night? Or one who was (from Boston).

  2. relliott4 says:

    It just seems to be more of a beauty contest. That one, Antonella–why did she even get through? My husband said the world is stupid and that AJ should never have been voted off before the kid. (Had to look up their names–I’m not paying that much attention, I guess.)

    I’d quit watching but the one lady who sang My Funny Valentine moved me so much. I really like her.

  3. SciFiChick says:

    I get that way too often. Then, I’m forced to take a Unisom to knock me out. And when I wake up, there’s only a mild hangover. 😛

  4. It sounds like we had pretty much the same evening. Except I didn’t watch American Idol. I don’t watch much TV.

    Congrats on making your goal. Somehow it seems to mean even more when we really have to work for it than when it comes out quick and easy, huh?

    Oh. I can barely hold my eyes open this morning.

  5. relliott4 says:

    I probably would try something like that if I wasn’t terrified I’d over sleep and not get my kids off to school. But man, I’m gonna be tired tonight and I’m cooking for a crowd. Eck.

  6. relliott4 says:

    Unfortunately, I have several shows I love. Bones, House, Heroes and Medium. I was going to add Dresden Files to that, but I’m still iffy on that one.

    If I have to work, I just work afterward. We could have been emailing last night.

  7. Danne Cole says:

    Oh I know what you mean about AI. Antonella should be gone! I think she got through just because of all the perverts out there that, in the hopes of getting more “stuff” to come out, voted for her! I am lovin’ Lakisha, Jordin (hometown girl!) and Gina so far. Who are your favs?

  8. You were up all hours because of IDOL?

    (Yeah, I know, I am twisting things a bit, but it makes it funnier for me if I twist things a bit…)

    The poor kid voted off just got forgotten. The 17 year old got sympathy votes and there is always the “vote for the worst” crowd who seek to unduly influence the show for their own amusement…

  9. Terri says:

    OMG — I do the same damned thing! It’s usually when the story has taken a weird turn I hadn’t anticipated (yes, even us pantsers *do* anticipate the rough outline).

    I’m soooo glad I got my new-to-me iPaq a few weeks ago, because it has a voice recorder, and I can just roll over, mumble into the little mic, and then go to sleep. Tho desciphering it the next morning is sometimes like that Seinfeld episode…sigh.

    Terri/Keira

  10. relliott4 says:

    Scott, I think all the voting is weird on that show. Ah well, I just like to hear them sing. 🙂

    Terri, I want to hear all about this iPaq…

    I’m still part pantser. I outlined this one but only through half the book. I need to finish the outline but I only have five chapters left and I’m pretty sure I know what each one will have now.

    I’m frustrated though. I want to just keep writing and not do any of the other life things. My husband picked today to wash windows. You’ve seen all the freaking windows on this house. More than half take a long ladder! I have to help. Bummer.

  11. Dana Pollard says:

    You know who that was standing over you in your sleep don’t you? It was a spirit from one of the people buried in your back yard. hahahahaha 🙂

    I think I’m going to go comment crazy on your blog… because I can. Blogger sucks.

  12. relliott4 says:

    Comment away! I think a part of myself was standing over the bed. Why is the question.

Leave a Reply

