Groggy Countdown to Finish Line

I’m here, just trying to adjust to the Daylight Saving’s change.  I’m one of those people who takes at least a week to acclimate.  I really see no point in this since we have to turn our lights on in the morning now, anyway. 

But we train our minds to awaken at certain times in the morning.  Knowing that time will be wrong, has me waking up several times during the night to check the clock. 

So, I’m tired. 

writing.jpg

I’m also in the final countdown to pitching my book this weekend to an agent.  I’m anxious about it but a lot of that is because I still have to make up business cards and get the actual pitch down.  Whittling a 100,000 word manuscript down to three to five sentences is harder than it sounds. 

I’ve done this before–years ago when I was trying to market my book length work–and I remember being even more nervous then.  I even had to tell an editor in one line what my book was about over the phone!

I’m still nervous, but in a completely different way this time.  I believe in this book much more than I did in the others.  I want it this time in a way I couldn’t have before.  I’ve worked through really difficult times to get to this place again in this career I want. 

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not putting all this into one pitch to an agent.  There’s a very real possibility she won’t be interested and that’s okay.  But this opportunity fired me up to see how fast I can write a first draft and I couldn’t feel more like snoopy dancing. 

But… I’m writing something that yes, has been a lot of hard work, but I also enjoyed writing it.  

Only the first draft will be complete, but I’m already itching to jump in on the rewrites because I have all these great ideas for layering flavor and character. 

annot.gif

You should see the comment section on the side of my manuscript! (And no, Heather, I don’t use pink either. <g>)

So, in addition to slamming out the last couple of chapters this week, I’m also trying very, very hard not to catch whatever has laid my daughter flat this week.   As usual, her timing is impeccable.  I simply can’t miss the OKRWA meeting this month. 

But I feel so sorry for her–I heard her coughing most of the night so actually caved and gave her a little Nyquil.  She’s nearly sixteen.  That stuff works.  Too well, which is why I hesitated in the past.  But she needed to sleep. 

Now, she hasn’t made a sound in two hours.  I know because I keep going upstairs to check on her. <g>

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in My Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Groggy Countdown to Finish Line

  1. katie says:

    I can never get used the change. I hate the feeling that somehow I’ve missed sleep.

    Good luck pitching your book. I hope it goes well and they love it! 🙂

  2. RElliott4 says:

    Thanks so much for the good wishes. I can take all of those I can get this week. And welcome to the Snark, Katie!

  3. Oh, I really hope she gets to feeling better. You need to start taking ZICAM now. If only for my own selfishness. I want to see you this weekend. 🙂

    I wish I was ready to pitch, but I’m hoping that by meeting Miriam, I will be more comfortable to pitch in July.

    You can finish! And you’ll do great.

  4. relliott4 says:

    Zicam? I’ll have to look that up. I’m going to be there! I made this weekend my goal and the end is in sight.

    Oh, that sounds ominous, doesn’t it?

  5. carol says:

    Hate the time change, love the longer light in the evening. Hope little-bit feels better and you stay healthy. I was praying that Lori didn’t give me her GI bug. So far, so good.

  6. CJ says:

    Sorry your baby girl is under the weather. Don’t worry so much about Nyquil. They took the good stuff out of it so it didn’t have to go behind the counter with the other “controlled” stuff…LOL. ZICAM is a great immuno-booster. As for the time change–it sucks. I never can adjust anymore. Did you know that Daylight Savings Time goes back to the turn of the century? They tried it first them but too much of the country was agrarian. Trust me–farmers don’t care what the clocks say. The government dumped it and it didn’t come back until WWII. Trying to save energy then too. Did you hear the latest news, that the price of gasoline/diesel is going up because of the earlier DST implementation. Lovely, huh? BTW, you’ll do great this weekend. All my appendages are crossed.

  7. relliott4 says:

    CJ!!!! Hey, Sweetie! Thanks for crossing appendages.

    I hope I can finally fall asleep at a decent time tonight. You’re right, DST sucks.

    Carol, I hope you don’t catch it either. 🙂

  8. Sending you good vibes for the book pitch, Rinda 🙂

  9. David says:

    Me two on the daylight savings time thing! Time should be made to arrive on time!

    (:

    And good luck with the book!

  10. relliott4 says:

    Thanks for the good luck wishes! Hey, is this OWFI David? How are you?

    Can’t believe I’m not going to that conference this year. Had to choose and I have one this weekend and one in July. Hope you rake it in on the Sci-fi/fantasy category this year!

Leave a Reply

