Monday Ramble

I’m in good spirits today.  A part of me is anxious to jump into rewrites and the rest is wanting to enjoy spring break with my kids. I may try to fit in both.  I kind of ran myself down in the last couple of weeks. 

Pushing yourself to meet a goal is one thing, but ignoring your health during that time is plain stupid.  I can soooo be stupid. <g> 

The reason for my good mood?  Actually, there are several. 

* Still flying high off finishing the 1st draft. 

* I just bought and devoured this book.

bloodbound300.jpg

I think Patricia Briggs is my new hero.  I absolutely love the characters in her books.  This is the sequel to Moon Called and when I brought it home Saturday, I nearly had to fight my daughter for first read.  If you enjoy urban fantasy and damned good writing, get these books!  She manages to make her main character strong, humble and so compassionate, you can’t help but love Mercy.  I’m a little envious actually, but derive too much pleasure reading the books to ever stop. <g>

* I got to meet Heather.  She is a sweetie–big time.  Drove all the way up here for the conference that didn’t happen, but meeting her made my weekend certainly worth it.  It’s funny how you can become friends with a person you’ve never met in person.  She gave a wonderful ornament with a special message and I hung it right by my computer. 🙂 

* Getting to chat with other writers and seeing friends.  Hanging with Kelli made the weekend extra special as well.  Yacking with the always entertaining Jordan Dane…  Listening to the ear splitting rise of excitement that comes from shoving a bunch of romance and suspense writers into a room together. 

*  Seeing that lineup of authors signing books and for the first time in a very long time, realizing that I could very well be there myself at some point.  🙂

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in My Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Monday Ramble

  1. SciFiChick says:

    I’ve heard good things about that Patricia Briggs books. But I didn’t know this was a sequel. I’ll have to see if my library has the first one.

  2. I guess I need to bump Moon Called up to the top my TBR pile. 😮

    I’m glad you like the ornament. I’ll give you a shout out once I taste my wine this evening.

    I meant to bring my copy of Surreal for you to sign, but I forgot. Just like I forgot to bring my jewelry. I left my wedding ring in the cleaner jar. But hey, my baubles were bright and shiny when I got home. 😉

  3. Kelli McBride says:

    Rinda, the two books I bought were also super! Elizabeth Vaughn’s WARLORD and Nalini Singh’s VISIONS OF HEAT. Both were outstanding and lived up, even surpassed, all my expectations. I read both in one day!

  4. relliott4 says:

    I’m going to have to give Nalini Singh’s books a try. You read both in one day? Nice day.

    There will be another time I can sign the story, Heather. In fact, I’ll love doing that! I got to sign a few at a conference last year and that was one of the first times I’ve felt like a real author. heh heh

  5. SciFiChick says:

    I have and read Visions of Heat ARC, but was unable to write a review.. It was just too confusing to me. It probably would have been easier if I had read the first one.
    Want my ARC? I feel guilty not reviewing it.

  6. RElliott4 says:

    I would never turn down an ARC. Plus, I’ve ordered book one to try it out, so maybe it’ll make sense… Course, it’d probably be good to review on the strength of it as a stand alone. Still new to the reviewing thing here.

    I’m not sure this reco for Blood Bound could be considered an actual review, though. It’s more like a “Damn, read this.” sort of thing. heh heh

  7. SciFiChick says:

    If you email your address to me, I’ll mail it to you.

  8. Kelli McBride says:

    I think you do need to read the first Singh book to understand the futuristic earth and the differences in the Psy, Humans, and Changelings, plus how the council and the NetMind work.

  9. Jordan Dane says:

    And you WILL be there, my fine friend. Visualize it and it will happen. Sending good vibes your way and thanks for the mention in your blog. Love ya.

    JD

  10. Rinda says:

    Yes, I will. But I must warn anyone who decides to sign with me. I learned this Saturday that most of my family will be at all of my signings. Scary.

Leave a Reply

