Spring Sucks

seb_satrad_ok.jpg

Tornado Effin Season Again.  Spring is supposed to be warm and sunny.  It’s supposed to smell good with the blooming flowers and make you all happy and crap. 

Not in Oklahoma.

Yeah, I’m right in the middle of that thing on the map.  We’ve had sirens and close family time in the closet.  I’m writing during a slight breather and then will probably go back into the closet. 

I remember a story from a local writer about getting through the May 3rd Tornado in 1999.  She had just sold a book in a fantastic six figure deal and when the newscasters told people to take cover, she duct-taped the disk holding the backup of her book to her chest and got into the bathtub in the middle of her house.  She did end up losing her home, but she made it.  So did her manuscript.

Know what I did?  I uploaded my writing files into a private email group on Yahoo.  They recently increased the file storage amount to 100 mgs and I set one up specifically for this.    

Now, if I can just figure out how to upload all my family pictures and then my family… <g> 

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in My Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Spring Sucks

  1. Dana Pollard says:

    Our first year here we had the sirens blasting and I grabbed the kids and headed for the closet. My laptop was in the middle of all of us. 🙂

    I’ll remember the duct taping of the disk though… gotta love that duct tape.

  2. Super freakin’ suckage.

    And I think I’m going to get my share this evening. You’d think I’d be prepared, having grown up in Oklahoma and all, but I got lax living away from the area for so long.

  3. relliott4 says:

    I was thinking of doing some live tornado blogging next time.

  4. relliott4 says:

    duck tape? I was shaken from the tornado. I swear.

  5. Good luck! We’re getting the same storm in the Dallas area, minus the tornados but with plenty of rain, thunder, and lightning.

    Funny thing is I’d take the earthquakes in California over some of the weather we get around here any day.

  6. Celise says:

    You should move down here to Arizona. It’s a dry heat. I’m coming to you by way of Jenn Nipps blog. Us writers have to stick together, y’know. Love the store and plan to order some stuff soon.

    I like it here. I think I’ll stick around.

  7. SciFiChick says:

    I won’t tell you how it’s been gorgeous and over 70 degrees all week up here in Indiana then…

  8. RElliott4 says:

    Dry heat sounds wonderful. It’s been sticky here for days. Glad you like the store. It’s a labor of love so I have an outlet for my mouth.

    SciFiChick… I would say you’re mean but I just received a wonderful ARC from you. That thing is huge! Thanks so much!

    Scott, we have more of this coming in today. Yay.

    Last night was scary because tornadoes touched down before the sirens.

  9. RElliott4 says:

    Where is Jen’s blog? I can only find her website and couldn’t find the blog link on it. But, I couldn’t get all of the home page to load so it might be this ancient laptop.

  10. SciFiChick says:

    No problem! Hope you enjoy!

  11. scooper says:

    Good luck getting the pics. uploaded. I’ve become dependent on electricity and any threat to that is a threat to me.

  12. carol says:

    I need one of those necklaces you hook your thumb drive to and just wear it all the time, then I’d never lose my book, unless I lost my head.

  13. Betty S says:

    Yikes I heard the sirens, too.
    Bryan, with his anxiety disorder and major phobia about tornados, was on his first real day on the job up on Memorial Rd where sirens were going off everywhere. His boss, who knew he had disabilities, dealt with it pretty well, but Bryan spent a good deal of time cowering in the corner of the cement bathroom, which served as their tornado shelter.

  14. Laura says:

    You guy ok? My mom said her lawn was flooded.

  15. Laura says:

    That was supposed to be “you guys” by the way…

  16. RElliott4 says:

    My guy is okay. snort

    Yeah, we’re fine. Right now, it’s pouring rain again and they say more of this is coming through this afternoon. I’m asking why I didn’t stay in DC right now…

    Betty, I think most of Oklahoma has major tornado phobias. I think Scott might be right in that I’d rather have an earthquake. But according to Jill’s blog, we have them, too.

  17. I think I’d rather have a tornado than a blog. You can hide in a cellar from a tornado (if you get there in time) but I would think it would be difficult to escape a major earthquake.

    Thinking about this stuff makes me want to drink.

  18. Ha!!!!
    Blog should be earthquake, WTF?

  19. relliott4 says:

    ROFL!!! Hey Heather, it’s five o’clock somewhere, right? 😉

  20. I would think it would be difficult to escape a major earthquake.

    Nah, just don’t stand under anything that’s about to fall. 🙂

  21. relliott4 says:

    Scott, I just pictured you running around, dodging anything that might be falling over your head.

    It’s five o’clock here. And Friday night. 😉

    So far, we have lots and lots of heavy rain. It’s kind of nice for those of us not in a flood zone.

  22. Pingback: What's Going on With Me Wednesday... « Musings From The Blonde Side

Leave a Reply

