Happy Stuff, Difficult Stuff, Good Music and SFAP Reminder

petals.jpg

I love magnolias. 🙂

My rewrites are still going a bit slow.  They’ll pick up once I’m past chapter four.  I wrote the first four chapters in third person with more than one POV, so I’m having to rewrite entirely in 1st before all the layering can work.

I’ve found that there were a few scenes, including one important fight scene in the hero’s POV, that are kind of difficult to replace.   

But it’ll come together.  

Life around here has been hectic.   

I’m getting ready to throw a big holiday celebration on Sunday with lots of people.  We’ve set up a volleyball/badminton net, ping pong table, electronic darts outside, horseshoes and we might pull out the go cart.  Yeah, the little ones will also be hunting eggs. <g>  We’re going to grill regular and vegetarian hamburgers and I’m making my popular baked potato salad.  Yum.  (Okay, it’s not mine.  I got it in one of my Taste of Home magazines years ago, but have since made it into a tradition.  I was one of the premier subscribers to that magazine and it’s still the best for recipes.  Outside of the online free www.allrecipes.com.  <g>)

The kids are busy with school and after school stuff.  The fourth-grade ‘land run’ thing is coming up and there’s that whole building a wagon issue that drove me nuts with the last kiddo.

It has been a bit sad around here, too.  My teenager is going through her first dealing with a harsh issue.  One of her friends tried to commit suicide and it’s put her in a state of shock.  He’s still in the hospital, but no one can see him yet and the rumors are driving her nuts.  One day it’s bad, the next good.  Her dad is going to drive her to the hospital later this week to get the truth–but I’m worried.  She’s been crying a lot. 

Feels weird to be putting together a family gathering when this is happening.  I don’t even know the boy but his decision has affected my daughter quite profoundly which in turn has affected us as a family.  There have been many discussions as you can imagine. 

Okay, enough of that!

Don’t forget, the current deadline for this month’s Scene From a Pic-Snarky Reader Style is April 8th.  We have some new readers who offered up writing this month, so make sure to check back when I post that day.  I’m also on the search for a really different photograph for the next one. Something that will electrify the imagination.

tina.jpg

Found a new singer/songwriter I really, really like.  Tina Dico.  Bought the CD yesterday in fact and already I know it’s one I’ll play often.  Click here to listen to clips on her website.  I love that first song!  She has a fantastic, deep and warm voice.  Here’s a link to her CD on Amazon.  I like loading a song here on my site so you can listen to at least one all the way through–purchased extra storage space here so can do that, in fact– but I need to check into copyright issues.  Wonder if it’s okay if you link directly to places of purchase…

Edit:  Sorry for yet another edit.  I was crying when I wrote the last one.  The boy didn’t make it.  Fourteen.  He was fourteen.  I went to get my daughter–she’s taking this pretty hard–  the school called in another counselor from the middle school for all the kids.  

This is such a hard thing to watch her face.  I’ve had friends and loved ones die, but none have taken their own life.  She’s seeing what his decision has done to so very, many people.  I wish this boy had seen how  many loved him.     

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in Art & Music, My Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Happy Stuff, Difficult Stuff, Good Music and SFAP Reminder

  1. SciFiChick says:

    Oh gosh. My thoughts and prayers are with his family and your daughter.

  2. carol says:

    How horrible for her to deal with so young, and to have him die. Such a devastating waste and everyone feels so guilty, as if they’d only known, they could have stopped it. Give her hugs for me.

    On the other note, have fun Sunday, we will be doing family things also.

  3. I’ll be in town this weekend. Birthday party for my daughter on Saturday. 🙂

    Hugs and happy wishes to your daughter.

  4. Oh, sad, sad edit. How tragic.

  5. michelle says:

    can you email me and tell me which school district this was in please??

  6. scooper says:

    It’s horrible that the child felt his only release was in suicide. I also feel for the families and friends. It’s hard enough as an adult to deal with such matters, let alone as a kid.

    I hope the weekend celebration goes well despite all the turmoil that is taking place. It’s sad but life doesn’t stop for the living no matter how much we sometimes wish it would. (If even for a few minutes.)

  7. relliott4 says:

    I can’t believe how sad this whole thing has made me. I had met all of her circle of friends, except this boy. In fact, they didn’t get along at one point but that had changed in the past year. But I keep thinking of his mother and little sister.

    My little one is so sad. Maybe having all the goofy family here Sunday will help.

    Though, now it’s supposed to be cold! Bummer.

  8. Terri says:

    OMG honey — my heart is breaking for y’all and that boy’s family. My thoughts and prayers are with ALL of you!

    Terri

  9. Sharon Dodd says:

    Rinda,
    How sad for this young man and his family. I know this must by difficult for your daughter and such a nightmare for this young man’s family. By way of information, suicide is the third leading cause of death in the U.S. from age 8 (EIGHT!) to 24, and is the second leading cause of death from 25 to 34. I only say that to say that it is something we need to be aware of, in terms of prevention whenever possible. It is a tragedy whenever anyone takes their own life, especially a young person. I am reminded that whenever anyone talks about suicide, one should never blow it off that they just want attention. There is an association between depression and suicide, although some people who commit suicide do not give outward signs of depression. If anyone is interested, there are some good family oriented articles on the websites for the National Institue of Mental Health, and the American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry (www.aacap.org), and there is a site dedicated to National Strategy of Suicide Prevention.
    Hugs to your DD.
    I put my last name on this time, so you would know who wrote this.
    Sharon Dodd

Leave a Reply

