Can’t Post Without Being Grumpy Today

127744_color_0.jpg

I’m upset.  Too upset to post in a polite, articulate manner. 

Bloglines people will have read my evil ranting, but I decided to turn it into a phantom post so now it’s gone.

I’ll be back to my “write” self soon…

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in My Writing Life, Occasional Snark. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Can’t Post Without Being Grumpy Today

  1. Whah. I receive updated posts, so I never got it.

    (((Rinda)))

  2. Betty S says:

    I must have missed it, too. You must have posted a very fast rant. I checked a little after midnight last night and it wasn’t there then either. See… you’ve made people curious. AND.. ready to do battle for you, if necessary.

  3. relliott4 says:

    I just rethought some of my words in the middle of the night and decided that I might offend someone.

    It wasn’t about me. It was about the boy’s funeral I went to yesterday. It was rough and had so very little to do with who that boy was.

  4. carol says:

    Sorry it was rough babe. Maybe the funeral made the family feel better. I don’t know what happened but sometimes it’s more about those left than those gone, sad but true. Hang in there. (((((hugs))))).

  5. I really hope that my mother dies before me, because I’m pretty sure my wishes don’t jive with church regulations.

    I’m so sorry about the funeral, Rinda. I can only imagine. (I’ve listened to a few of those WTF eulogies myself. They make me ill.)

  6. Julia says:

    I talked to Rinda. She was indeed very upset about the funeral. It wasn’t the speaking as much as it was what they were saying. I myself HATE funerals, don’t want one! I’d like no viewing of my funny looking corpse(you never look like who you were no matter how they try) no funeral – no preaching. Just cremate me and have a huge Happy, loud, fun Irish wake. Lots of laughing about what a dork I was and the stupid things I would say or do. Funerals should be about the person, what they meant to everyone. The best one I ever experienced was one my husband talked at. He had never met the man passed. He knew his children. So he talked about the seed this man had left, how marvelous he must have been as a father for his family was good, responsible loving people. That is what it is all about. It’s not about religion, or do’s or don’ts. It’s about being a kind, responsible person that is free in spirit and allows all others to be free too. That is what love is. That is what living in this world is. Learning to be who you are and allowing others the same freedom. People are who they are. They grasp onto things that they think will aid them in their journey here. Love is being free. Love is allowing them to grasp those things and not judging them for it. I love ya daughter and am so proud of who you are. Let them be who they are. Accept them in their life’s choices and positions. BE FREE………

  7. Erica R says:

    Sorry to hear you’ve been going through such a tough time. Thinking of you…

  8. relliott4 says:

    Hi Mom. You just caught me after a funeral. You know I have a long recovery period from them. I’m fine. Hope you got my email. 🙂

    Welcome Erica! Thanks for visiting the Snark–I will be getting back to normal blogging very soon. You can check out the Favorite posts section for better writing articles.

  9. Sharon Dodd says:

    Sorry, Rinda. I figured the funeral would be rough. It’s such a tragedy when anyone, especially a young person, takes his own life. Those who are left, both family and friends, are left to pick up the pieces, some of which may have to do with guilt, even though frequently perceived but completely undeserved, of what signs did I miss… Due to the problem of funerals being so difficult, I am sending for the Five Wishes video and forms. I want to have everything planned out, even the music and any pictures I want shown. I know I plan on organ donation. I want to spell out all my wishes for care if anything unforeseen happens to me, etc, I don’t want a family member to wonder what I would want done. (Although I know DH would say, “She broke her leg, pull the plug!!” A little humor, there. Please don’t anyone get mad.) I agree with your mom about wanting a loud, fun, Irish wake ~ with my maiden name of Murphy, that shouldn’t be hard.
    (((Hugs)))
    Sharon Dodd

Leave a Reply

