Painkiller Jane

jane.jpg

Okay, I’ll admit to being out of it as far as the current line up of shows on the Sci-Fi Channel, but last night, I caught part of the pilot episode of a new show I may get excited about.  Who knows anything about Painkiller Jane

Have you read the comic books the character is based upon?  Should I be running out to buy??  I like it from the cover alone.

g8733.jpg

 

Talk about a cool concept!  This could very well turn out to be something that captures my attention in a La Femme Nikita/Buffy way. 

 

As for the part of the episode I saw, yeah, it could have had better dialogue and there were a couple of places that made me roll my eyes, but it’s early yet–they could take this somewhere great.  Oh, I hope they do. 

 

Swiped this description from the website so you could see what it’s all about:

 

In a very imaginable future, the world battles terrorism and unrest. Out of this chaos emerges a new hero: Jane Vasco, a.k.a. Painkiller Jane (Kristanna Loken). 

Once the DEA’s top agent, Jane Vasco is formidable, both mentally and physically. As a child, her father nicknamed her Painkiller Jane, describing her ability to mentally push through even the most painful situations. But her strength is about to be tested. 

Jane is recruited by a covert government agency dedicated to containing and, if necessary, neutralizing the threat of “Neuros” — individuals with superhuman neurological powers. No one knows what caused the aberrations that led to their enhanced abilities, which range from from telekinesis and telepathic suggestion to induced hallucinations. 

During her first investigation with her new team, Jane discovers that she too possesses an odd ability: she can’t be killed. Unfortunately, she can still feel pain. Her newfound powers make Jane even more determined to learn everything there is to know about Neuros. 

Seldom malicious, Neuros often can’t control their powers. Consequently, they tend to leave a trail of death and destruction. To prevent a panic, the government has kept the discovery of Neuros a secret, assembling a covert unit to identify and contain Neuros. 

Operating from a secure abandoned subway platform, the core members of the unit are Andre McBride (Rob Stewart), the seasoned team leader; Connor King (Noah Danby), a special agent regularly armed with a smart remark; Riley Jensen (Sean Owen Roberts), an evolved computer whiz in charge of surveillance and communications; Dr. Seth Carpenter (Stephen Lobo), the unit’s doctor and scientist; Joe Waterman (Nathaniel Deveaux), the middle-aged caretaker of the subway; and Maureen Bowers (Alaina Huffman), Jane’s former DEA partner and friend, who, like Jane, was recruited after discovering top-secret information about Neuros. 

Painkiller Jane is based on the comic-book series of the same name created by Jimmy Palmiotti and Joe Quesada.

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Painkiller Jane

  1. The blurb sounds more fascinating than the trailers I’ve caught on T.V. I might have to check this one out.

  2. My wife (sci-fi junkie that she is) caught some of it and said (and I quote) “it’s ok as long as the main actress doesn’t talk”. Apparently Lokan has a severe inability as far as acting goes.

  3. relliott4 says:

    Yeah, I was thinking the same thing myself a couple of times.

    I kept trying to remember where I’d seen her then remembered Bloodrayne which I didn’t get fifteen minutes into. And I paid for that awful movie.

    Oh and she’s on the L Word, but I didn’t watch all the episodes.

    I just really want some good sci-fi shows and movies. More options. I miss shows like Farscape.

  4. Kelli McBride says:

    I watched it and I agree the dialogue can be better. However, I think it’s a show to watch because of the potential.

    BTW, the whole time I watched it, I kept seeing you. Kristanna Loken and you could be sisters! You gorgeous nordic amazons!

  5. Celise says:

    Hah! This show is in my most recent post. I kinda dig the whole kick-butt chick theme, too.

  6. relliott4 says:

    Kelli! She makes you think of me??? That’s it. I need to see myself the way you do. I think you made my day. And here I was off to get on that stinking treadmill and curse the whole time I run on it.

    Maybe I need to go back to blonde instead of all these stripes, eh?

    You have so got to be pulling my chain.

    Celise, I very, very much dig the kick butt chicks. My books are like that since I like it so much. Oh, check out my critique partner’s new excerpt she just put up on her website. We hooked up because we both like kick butt chicks. heh heh http://www.rachelvincent.com

  7. carol says:

    I need to watch it since I like that kind of thing, the name was a little strange. I do like “Dresden Files” on Sci-FI channel. And then there is “Eureka.” Never read the comic but I’ve liked Kick-butt-chicks ever since Wonder Woman, with whom I share a birthday, she was created the year I was born. Don’t even ask. Carol

  8. Erica R says:

    Intriguing! I just might have to check it out. =)

  9. Kelli McBride says:

    Rinda, I’m totally serious about think of you when I was watching here. I can’t believe you don’t see it!!

Leave a Reply

