Unprofessional Snarky Movie Review

Like Dolce Bellezza, I’ve had a little trouble finishing books lately.  I’m actually reading three very good ones, but I have the attention span of a gnat these days. 

Maybe it’s spring fever.

Even movies have been unable to capture my undivided attention.  A few here and there, but last night, one had me from beginning to end.  I would say that it caught me at just the right time.  The right mood.  But honestly, I think this one would have appealed to me anytime.  

 harrold.jpg

Stranger Than Fiction

I laughed.  I cried.  I sat on the edge of my seat for quite a bit of it.  I’m sure every writer who has seen it ended the movie with the urge to pull out their notebooks or laptops and write the next great masterpiece.  Or at least try harder. 

For it’s in the trying we find the experience and knowledge to get closer to our goals, right?

I simply loved this movie.  I loved Will Ferrell’s character and Maggie Gyllanhall’s as well.  But, as always, this actress blew me away.  She always does.

emma.jpg

Emma Thompson.  I could list a string of movies I’ve loved just because she was in them.  There is one scene in Love Actually that I will never forget.  I was watching the movie alone because as usual, the hubby had fallen asleep.  It was late at night and yeah, I’ll admit that I was drinking coffee.  Sometimes, you just gotta have coffee.  I remember rewinding the DVD and crawling closer to the big screen we’d had at the time–holding my breath the whole time.   Can you name the scene?

I even loved Wit, though it left me a wreck for days.  It’s not a movie I often recommend–very, very heavy.  Heartbreaking.  Oh, but the scene with the damned lotion!!!  There go my stupid tear ducts…

As for Stranger Than Fiction, I’m not going to write a review that goes over the plot in detail.  I’m just going to recommend it.   There is one line that comes from Emma Thompson’s character near the end that made my week. 🙂

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in Unprofessional Snarky Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Unprofessional Snarky Movie Review

  1. I have not seen it yet, but I will.

    When Dead Again came out, I had a lot of people tell me I looked like her.

  2. Missy says:

    I have Stranger Than Fiction in my rental queue and now I’m anxious to get it.

    If you are anything like me, the scene you are speaking of with Emma Thompson in Love Actually is the one where she opens her gift from hubby (Alan Rickman) and realizes he bought the jewelry for someone else. The way she holds it together then hides for a couple minutes to fall apart. Man, that gets me every time and she does it all with her facial expressions!

    If it is a different scene than that one, I’d love to know which one.

  3. relliott4 says:

    I loved Dead Again!

    Missy, that’s the one. I simply couldn’t believe how she yanked me into the emotion of that moment. I knew her complete devastation–knew the hot rush of it in my chest. It was a fantastic scene.

    You know you’ve written a scene like that when you feel the physical response. That’s the best feeling!

    I may have to watch Stranger again just to get in the right mode–it gives you such a swelling rush at the end. 🙂

  4. carol says:

    I like Emma Thompson in anything she does, even Nanny McFee. I loved when she talked about running around in the make-up, warts and all and forgetting she was in make-up until she would see the horrified expression in the eyes of whatever guy she was flirting with at the time.

    She’s as much why I liked “Stranger than Fiction” as anything because I’ve never been a real Will Farrel fan.

    “Love Actually” a classic I don’t get tired of.
    Carol

  5. Celise says:

    I loved this movie, too, Rinda. It kind tripped me out, too, about the whole character coming to life aspect. When I get writers block, I wait to hear their voices in my head. That’s when I know the block is over and I should get back to writing. That’s about as real as my characters are to me.

  6. Erica R says:

    I am totally going to have to rent this. I haven’t heard a single bad review from any of my writer friends!

    *scurries off to video store*

  7. Bellezza says:

    It’s definitely time to catch a few flicks! Thanks for the suggestions. I wonder when my reading fever will return…:)

  8. I, unfortunately, walked in and watched the last thirty minutes of this movie. Now I know I have to watch it again, but I wanted to forget it before I saw it…

Leave a Reply

