Writing, Pro-Boxing Style

I had actually planned to devote a couple of days a week to poetry for April’s National Poetry Month and time got away from me.

If you’re in the mood for some great poetry, visit  Mad Below My Feet .  She has done such a great job representing the genre this month.  Her own work is stark, emotional and very, very good.  It stands alone but every now and then, she reminds me a little of Aimee Mann who writes clear, precise lyrics that make such huge statements.

Now, I mostly write very serious stuff, but I did this as a joke and then actually stood on stage and read it aloud at a poetry slam.  <g>   

boxer.jpg 

Writing, Pro-Boxing Style

I storm into the ring
Muscles oiled and compiled
To face an opponent of one
Heavy-weight style.

He goes by the name Diffidence
As world champion, he defiles
He creeps into the ring
Sentient style.

I throw out my first move
Shatter his myopic guile
Then perform a dancing two-step
Mohammad Ali style.

He rebounds with a solid left
Vilification so vile
With a quick follow up of guilt
Fourth-grade teacher style.

I growl with frustration
Gather persistence I’ve stockpiled
And slam him into the ropes
Pro-wrestler style

He grabs my creative muscle
This cheating reptile
And sinks in his teeth
Mike Tyson style.

Patience at end
My deadline he will not exile
I deliver the knockout punch
Confident Writer Style
 

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in Poet?. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Writing, Pro-Boxing Style

  1. Rinda, how delicious! I need to get me some o’ that Confident Writer Style. 😀

  2. Hehehe. Love that kick-ass confidence. 🙂

  3. Terri says:

    That’s freakin’ FAB, baby! Sigh…I remember the days when I used to write poetry. Of course then it was all about teenage angst!

  4. rhian says:

    Rinda – i’m adding alink to you to the Poetry Train – hope that’s okay! This is brilliant.

  5. Love the humor in this one! 🙂

  6. Sam says:

    LOL! – yes, this is terrific! Writing as a boxing match. We fight our own demons…

  7. relliott4 says:

    Aw, you guys made my day. This was something I did to give the serious poetry slam some much needed laughter.

    That’s fine with me Rhian–don’t know what that is but I’ll be looking it up. I do have two other poems to the right under that heading. I don’t often share my poems because I have more confidense in my prose. But brilliant? Wow. Thanks!

  8. Laura says:

    “And sinks in his teeth
    Mike Tyson style.”

    Great! And thanks for the shout out. Didn’t see it until today. Goes to show that I don’t check your blog nearly enough!

    LOVE that photo, by the way.

  9. relliott4 says:

    I’ve been overblogging due to being stuck in a chapter of these damned rewrites!

    Okay, out of my system now. You are welcome. 🙂

  10. Pingback: Boxing » Writing Pro-Boxing Style The Write Snark

Leave a Reply

