Confession

Ever sit up half the night because you can’t put a book down?  Ever find yourself sobbing uncontrollably in the early morning hours experiencing a tangled mass of confusing emotions? 

Isn’t it something when we invest so much emotionally into a character that when he or she is ecstatic or hurting and devastated, we feel it as well? 

Man, don’t you just have this sadistic urge to make this happen for others?  <g>

As a writer, I knew this was a ballsy move on the author’s part, knew that this would make the character stronger, the series stronger and even more exciting… man, I was in awe.  But as a reader, I was just bawling. 

demons.jpg 

And I can’t share why because I don’t want to ruin anything for those who haven’t read Harrison’s latest “For a Few Demons More.” 

You may cry if you’re as far along into this series as I am, but it’s still worth it.  Good, good book.

You might wonder why I’m so emotionally invested in this particular character.  Well, for one, the author is fantastic.  But it’s more than that for me personally.

Did I ever mention that the first in this series, “Dead Witch Walking” is the very reason I picked up my pen again?  My cp knows because I gushed one day– in fact, I emailed her this morning to talk about last night’s reading session and she’s still at RT! 

But, after years of trying to write category romances and constantly being told my heroines were too strong and it ruined the “romantic” fantasy of the story, I had pretty much moved on to work in a family business and raise small kiddos.  I was writing here and there.  Mostly short fiction.  I entered contests but didn’t market my work.

Then one day, I picked up this book from an author I’d never heard of.  I sat up most of the night trembling with this gush of return excitement that I hadn’t felt in years.  “This is what I was writing before!”  “Why didn’t I just continue doing it my way–this author did!”  

Granted, my story is pretty different, but my heroine is unapologetically strong like this one– and beautifully flawed like this one.  (I hope. 🙂  ) And I love to work in a made up world with fantasy creatures and magic and well, you get it. <g>

So anyway, today I have a headache but it’s worth it.  I really, really want to step up my revision process and get my story out.  These characters were alive in my head long before I picked up that first Harrison book and yet, it’s taken me years to work past the weird confidence wall I had bricked up around myself. 

I want to write the kind of story that creates strong reaction so badly I can feel the desire burning a hole in my chest. 

My daughter started reading the series and she gave Harrison one of the best compliments.  She’s nearly sixteen and said, “It feels so real–all the detail and emotion.  I feel like I’m really there.” 

That’s what I’m after here.  I want to create emotions in the reader and take them away, just for a little while, into a different world. 

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in My Writing Life, Writers I Like. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Confession

  1. Oooooh! I sooo love Kim Harrison’s “The Hollows” series. I was pissed when I saw this latest installment on hardcover. Agh! Now I have to wait till it comes in paperback to read it. *cries* I was so awaiting for this book.

  2. relliott4 says:

    It’s 13.83 at Amazon right now…

    It’s so good, Tempest!

  3. I’ve read DWW and own the rest. I want to reread DWW and get caught up this summer. I think I might do the same with Keri Arthur if I have the time.

    I got my husband stuck on Laurell K. Hamilton. He has passed me, (I ended with Blue Moon.) and will be caught up in time for Harlequin this year. I’m going to give him DWW to read once he’s finished.

    I really wish he’d start writing again. He can write 10-20 pages in a sitting easy. Makes me sick.

  4. relliott4 says:

    I didn’t know your husband writes! How wonderful. Mine reads, but only contracts. He’s read two fiction books in his life and they were for school.

    I simply can’t imagine.

    I still read Laurell K. Hamilton but I end up getting a little frustrated. I don’t mind the sexy stuff–like sexy stuff 🙂 — but I miss the paranormal plots and investigations of the early books. One of the books opened with a woman slapping Anita after telling her of her son’s murder. I kept reading to find out what that was about and was so disappointed when nothing came of it.

    But, I still haven’t given up. There is that emotional involvement with the character after so, so long.

    I haven’t read Keri Arthur yet. What’s the name of the first book in the series? I may add it to my book order.

  5. Full Moon Rising is the first Keri Arthur book.

  6. relliott4 says:

    You just saved me research time. You rock. 🙂

    Thanks! Added it to my ongoing Amazon order.

  7. carol says:

    Come on Rinda, get that book out there. I still want to read the whole thing. Your story and characters are every bit as good as the ones out there.

  8. relliott4 says:

    Thanks Carol. I’m working at a pretty decent pace which will get even faster once I finally dump the perfectionist thing. LOL!

  9. Laura says:

    “…my heroines were too strong and it ruined the “romantic” fantasy of the story…”

    I hate that attitude and I’m so glad there are writers like you out there to change it. I was talking to a guy in my graduate program awhile back about “male” stories and “female” stories. I was complaining about how there were almost no female genres without a romance component (not dissing your genre; I was bemoaning the lack of options), while there were a few for men. “I want stories for women that don’t center around men,” I said. “Yeah, but what would that even be?” he asked. It was all I could do not to punch him.

  10. relliott4 says:

    Well, my book has romance in it, but it’s a subplot instead of the main plot.

    I was going to say I read a series of mysteries featuring a lesbian detective… but it did have small elements of romance in it. 😉

    You know, even the mainstream books I buy have some element of romance.

    Hey, you might like Harrison. Yes, there are various romances in them, but the books don’t center around men. There are men and one of the main characters is a male pixy, but the stories center around Rachel Morgan. You might like Vicki Pettersson, too.

  11. Terri says:

    Oh man…I’m about 3/4 of the way through it and can’t WAIT to read the rest!

    And I know what you’re saying about your heroines, Rinda…with mine it’s more strange plotlines that can’t be shelved (or so I’ve been told multiple times)…sigh.

    If you haven’t read Rachel Caine’s Weather Warden series, that’s a must read, as well!

  12. “I want to write the kind of story that creates strong reaction so badly I can feel the desire burning a hole in my chest.”

    Oh God, me too Rinda! I love the way you put this. Brilliant, and very moving. Great post.

  13. Wow, Rinda! I’ll say it, too. Great post! I’m so glad you’re back in the game again. 🙂

    I’ve resisted Kim Harrison’s books–because I don’t write paranormal and I’m already addicted to way too many paranormal series. I try for variety in my reading: Suspense, Thriller, Contemp Romance, Historicals, Women’s Fiction, Mystery, and humor and paranormal.

    But lately my paranormal reading is taking over. Hellllp!

  14. relliott4 says:

    Hey Chris! You simply must not resist Harrison–each book gets stronger and more exciting than that last. I’m in awe.

    I read all over the place, too. But I’ve been stuck in this genre lately. Maybe because I write it. I’m finishing up the first in a new series and when it sells, I expect you to be addicted, btw. ;)I need to make a Christine character since you made a Rinda one. heh heh

    Terri, I love the Weather Warden books! I’ve written about them a couple of times here, too. I have one on my bedside table now, in fact. Oh and Terri, that last fourth of AFDM will go so fast and so frenzied, you won’t be able to put it down. Don’t get in the bathtub this time, eh? 😉

    Karen, it’s why we do this, huh? For ourselves, yes, but we perfect and tweak and just generally sweat it out because we want to create a reaction in another reader so badly… Only another writer gets that.

  15. rhian says:

    it’s been sitting on my shelf for a month because i’m scared to read it. i don’t wanna cry. I don’t want to be hating on Kim Harrison. So i keep staring at it on the shelf waiting to build up the guts to crack it open.

Leave a Reply

