Monday Poem-Creation’s Battle

I’ve decided to join the Monday Poetry Train.  Click here to visit Rhian’s blog, the writer behind this wonderful new idea.  She also invites you to join the train and add your site to the links.

I think this is great.  The world can always use a little more poetry.

16907_1979.jpg

Creation’s Battle
By Rinda Elliott

Frustrated afternoons spent
Grasping at elusive words
That swim just above a coherent plain.
Taunting in their dance of evasion,
They offer peekaboo glimpses of silhouettes,
Nothing but outlines
With misty, phantom cores.

You swallow a couple of anti-acids
To mask the burning restlessness in your gut.
A perpetual storm fueled by the knowledge
That maybe, just maybe
There’s something profound
In that chaotic realm of thought–
If only you could find
A clear path to the surface.

Without fail, ambivalence sets in.
You question a miserly vocation
That’s turned you into a mercurial servant of the pen,
And awarded you a sedentary lifestyle
With perks like carpal tunnel,
Pinched nerves,
And growing eyeglass prescriptions.

In defeat, you might push away from the desk
To find some mindless form of procrastination–
Anything to slow that relentless tide of pandemonium.
But the need will boil…
Insistent in your belly.
You curse this abrasive state of mind
That is, in truth, nothing more than fear,
Fear of the possibility
You have nothing important to say.

The trade-off?
Those good days when you face the fear.
You return to that desk with a calmer state of mind
And there, you witness a resurgence of words,
Still swimming, but now within your conscious reach.
You hold out webbed fingers
Snag one word, then another
They settle around you, change rhythm
Shifting smoothly into the flow of their original dance.
The only difference now is you,
Treading water, in their center.

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in Poet?. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Monday Poem-Creation’s Battle

  1. Rinda, you’ve captured the struggle to write in a beautiful and visual manner. I’m keeping this one to reread, my friend.

  2. rhian says:

    “They settle around you, change rhythm
    Shifting smoothly into the flow of their original dance.
    The only difference now is you,
    Treading water, in their center”
    LOVE IT! so true and so exciting when it feels like all the pieces fall into place.

  3. relliott4 says:

    Thanks Sara and Rhian. I wrote this years ago during a particularly difficult writing period. I’m having fun pulling up these old pieces. They don’t follow standard poetry formats, but then I’ve always been a non-conformist. 🙂

  4. What a lovely, honest poem. Ditto what Sara said. 😉

    “Fear of the possibility
    You have nothing important to say.”

    Story of my life. Sigh…

  5. relliott4 says:

    Oh Heather, you do, sweetie, you do. I may have to repost that lovely, short and very stark poem you did for the last Scene From a Pic. 🙂

  6. Gorgeous, Rinda. My problem, though, is that I know I’ve got important stuff to say. I’m never sure I’m up to the task of getting it down properly.

  7. relliott4 says:

    Oh yes, the other side of that fear. When you do have it but can’t find the right words to properly share it. I understand that feeling all too well and it can be just as frustrating.

    It usually finds the right way. Takes time sometimes.

  8. stak says:

    wow…….it’s a darned good thing i’m no writer……..

  9. relliott4 says:

    I’m trying to figure out how to take that…;)

  10. Celise says:

    I started writing in the 7th grade. Out of pure boredom during recess one day. My friend at the time suggested writing stories. I don’t remember if she finished hers, but I did. And I remember thinking that I still had more to say. I soon realized that I wanted to write books.

    Not short stories.

    Not newspaper articles.

    Not poetry.

    Books. Full-length novels. As I much as I learned from all those creative writing classes I took in college, it still comes down to one thing for me: I write full-length novels. I suck at everything else.

  11. Celise says:

    I’ve been meaning to ask…how are sales going for your merchandise? Are you making a lot of money? I was trying to do the same for myself (I had a zazzle.com store that had merchandise with my main characters on them), but didn’t know how to promote it good enough. Maybe if you can give me some pointers, I might try it again.

    BTW, as soon as I reach some of my writing milestones, I plan to “reward” myself by getting a few things from your store. I love some of your T-shirts.

  12. relliott4 says:

    The Snark store is a labor of love–not profit. 😉

    I think it could be if I were promoting heavily. I bought a lot of ads for awhile, but I’ve just been doing it more for fun these days. I love coming up with the designs and sharing them here. Love writing up the newsletter. I really like hearing about writer’s reactions.

    I had a few negative reactions to bringing it up on writer’s sites–so, I don’t do that so often either.

    I have a few fans like Heather, who display the banner and share a shirt once in a while. She even wears them.

    So, I design the items for writers (like her) because it’s fun and they might like them. I’d love to make a living at it, but I think it would have to be taken to another venue. Cafe Press has such high base prices, I only mark things up a couple of dollars or so.

  13. Kathy says:

    Very nice work- and that pic is gorgeous! 🙂

Leave a Reply

