Fangirl Moment

Yeah, we all have them.  Mine are short-lived, I’ll admit it–but I do have certain things that put a happy spin on my day.  Here’s a short version of that list. (And of course, kisses and hugs and all that lovey dovey stuff from my hubby and kids goes first, but we’ll skip that part.)

demons.jpg

A new Kim Harrison book.

bloodbound300.jpg

A new Patricia Briggs book.

Oh, a not quite so “bloody” critique from my cp. (No pressure there, Rach.)

Fresh, clean rain without Oklahoma tornadoes.

Discovering a new author. 

Discovering a new band.

otr.jpg

Hearing Over the Rhine in unexpected places. (Some of their older stuff is best– Good Dog, Bad Dog, Ohio… )

harrypotter.jpg

A new Harry Potter movie.

Okay weird, I know.  I didn’t enjoy the last one as much as the others but the new one coming in July looks fantastic.  I’ll share a link in a moment. 

But what really excited me?

The composer for that music you will hear in the trailer is Edgen!!!  You all know I have occasional fangirl moments over this creator of some of the finest writing music to ever bless my ears.  I’ve been a fan for years.  If you need a specific mood for your writing, you can almost always find it on his site.  www.edgen.com  He even sorts the music by mood if you go here and click on mp3’s and sort by genre.  You have your pick of moods like adventurous, creepy, upbeat, etc.

Prefer Myspace? www.myspace.com/edgen

So yeah, listening to the stirring, emotional and exciting rush of a piece like The Spartan Empire can get that old creative muscle pumping.

Here’s the trailer to the new HP movie. 

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in Art & Music, My Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Fangirl Moment

  1. Carol S. says:

    Happy things,\
    A new book by Elizabeth Peters, Nevada Barr, a Harry Potter, Dresden file books.

    Meeting with any of the Ink girls.

    A new, really good scary movie or comic book movie (Spider Man, Super Man etc.)

    Chocolate, really good, strong coffee, Chocolate Chip ice cream.

    Good Wine

    Uninteruppted writing time.

    Carol

  2. relliott4 says:

    Yeah, like the Dresden books, the Ink girls, comic book movies, coffee and well, we all know I love wine.

    Uninterrupted writing time probably tops the lists of everyone who visits this site. 😉

    Hey, you have fun at OWFI this weekend! I’ll be spending it with my new niece who is coming into the world. 🙂

  3. Okay Ms. Nordic Giant. Today I bought Dead Witch Walking. I’m blaming it on you. And I know it’s gonna be good. And then I’ll have to read the rest of them. le sigh.

    But in between, I’ll read Anita Shreve and feel noble.

    Oh, and you *would* have to remind me about Blood Bound. I read Moon Called. Excellent!

  4. relliott4 says:

    I think Nordic giant is becoming my nickname. LOL! The Nordic part isn’t so bad… and yeah, we all know that’s what my name means.

    Christine, this is a series that gets better with each book. She really grows the character in this last one, too. I’ve uh, read Blood Bound twice now.

    I’m such a UF Fangirl.

    Now, I just gotta get my foot in the door with my stuff before the market is saturated!!

    Haven’t read Anita Shreve… off to check her out.

  5. I’m dying to get my hands on Prom Nights From Hell this weekend. YA shorts by Meg Cabot AND Kim Harrison in one book. Way cool.

  6. scooper says:

    I loved Blood Bound, now I need to go get Viehl’s latest release in the Darkyn series.

  7. rhian says:

    Blood Bound was of course awesome. I just picked up Kelley Armstrong’s newest yesterday and am eager to dive into it but i had to read Christine Warren’s most recent release first. Didn’t even know she had a new one coming out. So i’ve dropped everything i was reading to consume it. Dang work keeps interferring with my reading time!

  8. SciFiChick says:

    Can’t wait for HP! … Both the book and the movie.

Leave a Reply

