No Meat Please!

Oh, I’m feeling snarky! 

 curious-cow.jpg

Yes, we live in the middle of cattle country.  Yes, steak seems to be the preferred food in most restaurants here.  But there are plenty of vegetarians who live here as well.  While I’m not, I do prefer vegetarian food most of the time. 

Last year, a friend came with us to lunch during a local writer’s convention and there was not one thing on the menu he could eat.  They even put meat products in their salads! 

But yesterday, my sister gave birth and the hospital couldn’t feed her.  She was supposed to have clear fluids only, yet like me, she’s hypoglycemic and her blood sugar was so low, she was crashing at an alarming rate.  She kept telling them she’d be fine if they’d just let her eat.  They brought her chicken broth and jello.  Jello wasn’t the best idea, obviously, but chicken broth? 

So our other sister tracked them down and said she needed vegetable broth and possibly crackers or something solid.  They come back and offer her chicken broth.  Again.

The nurse actually said it didn’t have chunks of chicken in it so it would work. 

Where did she go to school? 

We finally talked them into letting her have tomato soup and saltines.  I sat and watched the color come back to her face and coherence come back to her brain. 

My mother just told me they brought her broth again.  Grrr…  Then they could only get her carrots and cottage cheese.

 stir-fried-vegetables.jpg

So, I’m off to make her some vegetarian casseroles she can freeze for the next week so she doesn’t have to worry about getting tasty, healthy food.  Yummy food like Veggie Jambalaya, Veggi lasagne, Veggie Chili, etc.  I’m also thinking of smuggling something into her room tonight. 

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in Occasional Snark. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to No Meat Please!

  1. inkedblots says:

    Apparently that nurse has no idea what CHICKEN broth is made from.. sheesh. Some people!
    Being hypoglycemic myself, I know just how your sister probably felt. I am a meat eater though, sorry.
    She should have tossed the soup back at the nurse and claimed it was the dilirium. (uh, is that a word? hmm, it is now!)

  2. relliott4 says:

    I’m not a vegetarian either. (I’m about to eat my hubby’s homemade steak and cheese subs–yum!) Plus, bacon–couldn’t do without it. I love it. I even love the vegetarian version. 😉

    I am, however, crazy about fresh vegetable dishes. I like the times of year when the Famer’s Market is open– we’ve created a lot of really yummy vegetarian dishes.

    All three of us, my sisters and I have blood sugar issues. I have friends who used to pack snacks for me at conferences just in case.

  3. Laura says:

    I hated being a vegetarian in Oklahoma. But now I live in a place where it’s easy to be a vegetarian, and I’m not a vegetarian anymore.

  4. relliott4 says:

    Kim has been a vegetarian for seventeen years. She was even a vegan for a time but couldn’t do without cheese and eggs. She does, however, now eat fish and shrimp so I’m not sure what you’d call her now.

  5. X. Dell says:

    I’m not a vegetarian these days, but I understand your sister’s frustration. The nurse’s reaction is a classic. It belongs in the Stupid Uttterances Hall of Fame.

    It almost sounds as though the hospital staff is trying to converst your sister to vegetarianism.

    BTW, congratulations on becoming an aunt (again). Do you have a new niece or nephew?

  6. relliott4 says:

    A niece and I’ve spent most of the weekend at the hospital and I’m already completely nuts about her. Will be spending a lot of time with my sister helping her adjust during this first week with a new little one.

    Get this, she leaves tomorrow and tonight, they brought her a vegetarian menu–seems they had one all along but some of the nurses didn’t know. Grr!!!!!

  7. carol says:

    Sometimes busy nurses just don’t try to find out. I can say that since I’ve been there and done that. They just take the easy way out. Stupid, stupid. I’m sure Hannah is beautiful, my Hannah certainly is, only she’s six now. Send a picture of the new Hannah and take care of yourself. Conference was good. Bloomingtree Press wants to see “Agatha Ann and the Spider Wizard.” AWOC want’s to see a proposal on a writing book I was thinking of and the agent, Susan Ferris is going to look at the first 50 pages of Privy, so I’ll be busy. Hug that baby for me.
    Carol

  8. Kathy says:

    Big Congrats! A new baby to kiss.

    Glad all went well. We thought about you often this last weekend.

    You did miss us girls trippin on El Presidente Margaritas at Chili’s, though. 😉

  9. relliott4 says:

    Congrats on the requests, Carol!

    I really did miss out then, eh Kathy? I remember the last El Presidente time and oh, that was a blast. Laughed so much my face hurt.

    I probably won’t miss OWFI again. I need to go –just for the weekend with you guys. I missed that a lot.

Leave a Reply

