Spiders, Spiders, Go Away

Little groggy from lack of sleep this week so the brain feels wrapped in heavy layers of fog.  You know it’s bad when you’re trying to carry on an interesting conversation with the hubby and you check out twice in one sentence. 

With the fires and early hurricane, complaining about our constant storms feels petty, so I won’t.  But I will say that my brain is now on a new nighttime tornado watch schedule and it sucketh.  

But I do feel the need to momentarily bitch about the spider issue!  They want out of the soggy outside as much as everything else, so they’re finding their way into everything.  Yesterday, one in a cabinet.  One in the bathtub. One in a shoe.  One in the (eek) toilet! There was even one on my pillow last night. 

But we’ve been unable to catch or scare away the huge beast in the mailbox.  I tried leaving the door open, but I guess it likes the new, nice, warm, dry home.  The mailbox sits inside brick and the second you open it, the huge thing scampers to the back and squeezes down a hole in the back.  I feel sorry for the mail lady.

Groggy or not, I’ve got to get some work done today.  I plan to head back to my sister’s tomorrow to help.  I’m enjoying having a new baby around.

OH, speaking of new baby!  My friend and fellow OKRWA member became a new momma last night!  Congratulations on you new little boy, Shelia!!!!!

If anyone was inspired by this month’s SFAP image, I’ll be posting on the 15th, so you still have nearly a week to polish up those pieces. 🙂

haunted-house.jpg

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in My Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Spiders, Spiders, Go Away

  1. Nothing but rain every day here in Dallas. Sometimes a little, sometimes a lot. Humid, too, though yesterday late afternoon it was nice.

    Spiders… ha! They don’t bother me much. Black widows, brown recluses, wolf spiders, banana spiders, jumping spiders, and others I have yet to identify. We got ’em all.

  2. relliott4 says:

    Oh, the humidity stinks, doesn’t it?

    I usually ignore spiders or take them outside. The ones in the bed and toilet bother me for obvious reasons. heh heh

    Okay, and the monster in the mailbox.

    The only ones I really worry about are the recluses. Seems I sat on one on my couch last night. I picked up the notebook I’d slid off my lap last night and there it was. Squished.

  3. inkedblots says:

    Can’t say that I am fond of spiders, they are not the most attractive. You think mother nature was running out of ‘pretty’ potion when she came up with those?

    I’ve had encounters with the brown recluse. Living in Nashville my apartment happened to be infested with them.

    I got up at 1am for a potty break and I look down by my feet (while sitting on the throne) and what do I see? a freakin’ brown recluse! Needless to say, my feet sprang straight up to the wall and I was screaming for my daughter to get a shoe to kill it!

    She, of course was not happy to be woken up by my yelling, but after the fact thought it was funny as hell. I did not!

    And now that I know what DALLAS, TX has in store for me, thanks Scott, I’m even more excited for my move at the end of the month… NOT!!

    P.S. Be nice to your friend in the mailbox.. do you think the post lady even knows?

  4. relliott4 says:

    I just hope she doesn’t kill it. The only ones I do kill voluntarily are the recluses. I don’t want them to bite my children.

    Uh, that story is kind of funny… 😉

  5. Erica R says:

    Spiders don’t bother me… I don’t lurve them or anything, but they don’t freak me out. Palmetto bugs, on the other hand…

    Congrats to Sheila!

  6. Betty S says:

    We’re getting spiders, too. I thought it was just us.

    Conlan is beautiful.

    I’ve been swamped with work, babies and transportation problems, but things are looking up. I will try to post by the 15th, but I can’t promise. I’ll be on vacation (in the car) from the 19th till the end of the month.

  7. Lacey says:

    Spiders are nothing compared to the alligators coming out in Florida. It’s dry so they’re looking for watering holes. Fun!

Leave a Reply

