Monday Poetry Train-Hands

I get a ton of traffic to this page off the search engines from people doing image searches on hands.  If you like this image and want to know more about it, it came from this page  and it’s by Manu M in India. 😉

hand.jpg 

Hands

Look at your hands, she says
      Strong and capable.
The choice is yours,
To fill them with life,
     With benevolence.
They are your gifts.
     Blank canvasses
         Of infinite opportunity.

I look at my hands.
     Weak and insubstantial,
Wary of choice,
Filled with confusion,
     With uncertainty.
These are my gifts,
     Whose constant ache
          Hollows my very soul.

———

The Monday Poetry Train is the brainchild of Rhian.  Visit her site and take a ride!

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in Poet?. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Monday Poetry Train-Hands

  1. rhian says:

    thius is fabulous Rinda and once again color me green. Love the photo that you selected to go with the poem as well – excellent companion piece. And yeah – not only is the direction of our life in our own hands, it’s about what we do with the opportunities handed to us (pun intended)

  2. relliott4 says:

    Thanks. And thanks for getting it. Entered this in a contest a couple of times and one of the judges was so confused.

  3. carol says:

    Lovely, makes me think of the contrast between old hands and young hands, especially when I look at my own and those of my grandchildren. Well done. Carol

  4. scooper says:

    Beautiful, Carol took the words out of my mouth. I was all set to type lovely and then I looked at the last comment…The photo is wonderful too.

  5. relliott4 says:

    Thanks everyone. This is one of those poems I actually liked, but still didn’t know what to do with– so the poetry train is such a good thing. 🙂

  6. Choo-choo, you! 😉 Love your poem.

  7. The poem is wonderful and the picture goes perfectly with it. 🙂

  8. TA Chase says:

    Rinda,

    your contribution was perfect. REally makes one think about everything they hold in their hands. Life and possibilities.

  9. Lovely and thought-provoking, Rinda!

  10. I’m a sucker for people’s hands; I could never date a man whose hands made me squirm away. (for sort of obvious reasons)

    So the image struck, as did the poems. Nicely done; they make a great combination.

  11. Rashenbo says:

    That poem certainly paints a mental image. It flows so well, you did a great job with that one. Thank you for sharing!

  12. Christine says:

    The photo and poem go very well together. Love the repetition.
    Nicely done.

  13. stak says:

    perception is everything,right?………..what appears strong is not always so………

  14. Pingback: Highly Amused | Rinda Elliott

Leave a Reply

