Glancing In

green-reflection.jpg

Yeah, this picture has nothing to do with the post.  I just liked it.  Feels fresh and sharp–puts me in a reflective mood. 

I’m keeping this short because I still want Rachel‘s cover of STRAY easily visible.  Today is the official release day after all and it isn’t every day you see your CP’s debut novel released.  I’ve been lucky enough to see two.  First Sara Saint John’s and now Vincent’s. 

School is officially out and my kids both have birthdays.  My son is having a sleepover tomorrow night with ten year-olds.  Should be an interesting, sleepless night.  The daughter is turning sixteen and we’re going to have a party then sleepover since I’ll be kicking out the boys at a certain time.  Different weekends, of course.  I’ll need recovery time. <g>

I didn’t make my deadline.  Just too busy.  And I’ve been fightting that “I’m not sure this is good enough” voice.  Don’t worry, I’m still winning.  But I’m close to completion and should be able to whip this puppy into shape in one more week.  I need to get better at this deadline stuff if I plan to publish a lot of books. 

Oh and Inkedblots asked about the furry monster in my mailbox.  I’m sorry, I don’t have a great, scary spider story to share.  He just disappeared.  Either he left, or he’s become better at hiding. 

I still look before I reach in there, though.

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in My Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Glancing In

  1. Scott from Oregon says:

    About that new banner picture…

    I had an iridologist look at it. She said you may have writer’s cramps.

  2. Sarah Wilson says:

    Scary, I hope that mailbox critter is gone for good. Lots of luck with the sleep overs. Oh, and I can’t wait to see your finished manuscript…hope to see you soon! 🙂

  3. I tried to comment earlier today, and my laptop froze up. I hope I’m not going to have to get a new one, but it’s terribly hard to work when it freezes a dozen times a day. Usually in mid-sentance.

    But what I wanted to say was that you are most definitely good enough. Never doubt it. 😉

    Rachel

  4. relliott4 says:

    Yes, you have had to say this a couple of times lately, eh? Don’t worry–It’s not me, it was the story. But as you know, I reread last night and I’m okay with it. Getting soooo close to completion and I’m sooooo excited.

    Isn’t that a new laptop?

  5. Celise says:

    Happy birthday to your kids, Rinda! Gemini’s SO rule. So, does your daughter like to read? Because, y’know, I write for her genre…ANYHOO. I just barely made my deadline. The first 66 pages of Book Two in my YA series completed my May 31st. It took a few extra pages, but I made the deadline. My goal is to have the frist draft done by Nov 1st. And I’m doing it for the same reason you are: “I need to get better at this deadline stuff if I plan to publish a lot of books.”

    BTW, I unveiled my new author site today (should’ve done it on my birthday next week) and am giving away a ton of items. Just click on my name for the details. Also, I noticed that I’m in your blogroll (Gemini Wisdom). If you click on it, you’ll be redirected, but just make sure you change the URL eventually.

  6. relliott4 says:

    I’ll change it now. 🙂 Yes, she reads. She does read some young adult, but she’s mostly moved into the adult books. She will jump on Meg Cabot’s 800 series the second they’re out. Congrats on meeting your deadline! That always feels so good.

Leave a Reply

