Monday Poetry Train-Subterranean Thought

Here is another revisit for the Poetry Train Riders.  Funny, the one line I spent time rethinking, is usually the one people love. We’ll see… 

Don’t forget to take a ride on Rhian’s Monday Poetry Train!   

contemplation.jpg 

Subterranean Thought

Ground dweller,
Seeking answers
In the landscape of being.
Trapped under a canopy
Of idealism.

Unfold a repertoire
Gone yellow and brittle.
Skim the middle words.
A foray, one might think
Into something new.

Spend the afternoon hours
Immersed,
In the mysticism of a carrot.
Embracing the solid rhythm
Of idleness.

Focus on the gnawing,
Empty ache,
Until it splinters
In a display of glistening chaos
To reveal a voiceless whisper.

One glimpse
Of raw, unadulterated insight.
Not something new,
But excavated, ancient
And long forgotten.

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in Poet?. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Monday Poetry Train-Subterranean Thought

  1. Oh I really love this
    “Not something new,
    But excavated, ancient
    And long forgotten.”
    Just womderful!

  2. relliott4 says:

    Thank you! It’s hard when we sometimes lose a bit of our idealism as we grow older. I tend to write about the deeper search for it. 🙂

  3. I feel very much in need of more chaces to embrace the solid rhythm
    Of idleness.

  4. carol says:

    I like the images of “glistening chaos” and “voiceless whisper.” Beautifully done. Carol

  5. Wow! Love it! Reminds me of TS Elliot. 🙂

  6. rhian says:

    yea – i thought this was wonderful:
    Until it splinters
    In a display of glistening chaos
    To reveal a voiceless whisper.
    though i also liked the carrot, a root symbol, earthiness…

  7. Joy Renee says:

    loved this:
    Immersed,
    In the mysticism of a carrot.
    Embracing the solid rhythm
    Of idleness.

    the alliteration and rhythm zings.

  8. julia says:

    “raw, unadulterated insight.
    Not something new,
    But excavated, ancient
    And long forgotten.”

    I’m with R.G. Alexander on this one. I also liked

    “Unfold a repertoire
    Gone yellow and brittle”

    Really accessible and multi-layered.

  9. Christine says:

    Spend the afternoon hours
    Immersed,
    In the mysticism of a carrot.
    Embracing the solid rhythm
    Of idleness.

    Absolutely loved this poem. Especially the stanza above.

    My Poetry Train is up too – an excerpt from a work in progress.

  10. relliott4 says:

    Emily, I need to learn to embrace those times fully. I’m usually thinking I should be working.

    T.S. Elliot–wow, Tempest, what a compliment! Thank you. 🙂

    Thanks for all the compliments, everyone! The carrot line was my favorite and yet I had negative responses from it in poetry contests. In fact, I quit entering them after that because I like to write poetry my way–whether it’s wild and jumpy or flowing with rhythm and rhyme. Never was one for rules…

  11. Ann says:

    Great poem. Love the imagery. Mine is posted.

  12. Another really good one, naturally. The carrot works because it IS such an unusual thing to get lost in and meditate about. The bit of absurdity fleshes things out, reminds you to stretch your own mind.

  13. Scott from Oregon says:

    I had trouble with the carrot and then I realized my trouble was not in the poem but in my self.

    I came around to the carrot in no time.

    This is very nicely done.

    I liked all of it.

  14. X. Dell says:

    This is a very moving poem. Very well done.

    I plan to blog about mysticism later this summer, but I never thought to include carrots in those posts. Perhaps I’ll reconsider.

  15. relliott4 says:

    Oh, I look forward to your posts on mysticism. I’ll have something to contribute then, I hope. My knowledge on conspiracy theory is pretty sketchy.

    And I love to add a bit of absurd, Susan. I may have to post some of my more absurd pieces, in fact…

    Scott, I was wondering if you’d pick on my carrot.

    That doesn’t sound right. heh heh

Leave a Reply

