Long Teeth, Mams and Fighting Boys

My friends, Sara Saint John and Carold Shenold both have stories out this month at World Of Myth.  Sara has two stories– a reprint of Long in the Tooth and a new one, Long in the Tooth Revisited.  Carol’s is called Mam. 

These are free to read online, so enjoy!

Okay, I have a question for those of you with sons.  Mine is ten and he keeps getting into knock down drag outs with another boy down the street.  They beat the crap out of each other then want to hang out again a few days later. 

My son just came home with his face all scratched up from grass and a knot on his forehead.  (Since he’s allergic to grass, we have hives to probably look forward to…)  Unfortunately, the boy he’s fighting is much bigger.  The boy was taunting him and threatening to trash his bike so my kid tried to throw the first punch.  Uh, I think he lost.  Looks like he did.

I’m used to girls who get mad, say mean things and cry then make up a week or so later.  But these boys are physically beating each other up! 

So, do I have the entire summer to look forward to this kind of crap?  If so, it’s gonna be a long one.

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in Writers I Like. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Long Teeth, Mams and Fighting Boys

  1. *LOL* I know what has happened to your son isn’t funny, but it reminds me of my own cousins when they were growing up. My cousins and their friends kick each other’s butt, and then they were all good chums a couple of days later. Since I’m a girl, I couldn’t understand their weird behavior, so I used to tell why couldn’t they resort to name calling and insulting each other’s clothes. Hahaha! Of course, my uncle would puff his chest, all proud of them throwing punches. Men! *rolls eyes*

    Perhaps you should have a talk with your son about this. You know, ask why he wants to be friends with this other boy. Maybe he just wants to hang out with that boy for the wrong reasons, and that’s why they end up beating the crap of each other so often.

  2. X. Dell says:

    They wait days before hanging out again? Back in the day, we wouldn’t wait a few days. A few hours, maybe.

    That bully (the big kid–what else could he be?) has to change. Otherwise, as they get older, they can get into some serious trouble.

  3. carol says:

    Problem for me is that Jeff never got into physical fights, he was small but usually talked his way out. But after he started Karate, at about 10, , the other kids backed off anyway, especially when the karate school held a demo at his school and he broke some bricks and boards bare-handed. Wish I had a better answer for you.

    Thanks for the plug BTW
    Carol

  4. Don’t really understand boys, either. And I have one! When Sean was little, he got bullied a lot. I don’t like real-life violence, but I wish he’d fought back more often. It would’ve given him confidence. Hang in there. Summer is only three months long, and it will pass quickly!

    Yes, thanks for the plug. I appreciate you. 🙂

  5. relliott4 says:

    They sometimes make up the next day. This is new, so it’s only happened a couple of times, but it bugs me. I’m forcing a break from each other right now.

    Thing is, my son has been in mixed martial arts for more than two years but he’s repeatedly been warned by his coach to not use the moves outside the dojo. My husband says he should if he’s defending himself. But some of those moves can do serious damage…

    Fun, eh?

Leave a Reply

