Conference Time

I haven’t been to an RWA conference in eight years and that one was my first.  I’m used to smaller, regional conferences and usually prefer those–but I’m excited.  Nervous and excited. 

I’m rooming with a couple of great writers and expect the drive down together will be so full of discussion we’ll arrive already exhausted. <g>

I went to buy one more blouse I needed and found that Steinmart was having a very, very decent sale so I came home with four blouses and one pair of shoes I may be stupid enough to wear. 

cute-shoes.jpg 

(Not my feet, btw.)

And that my friends is my problem.  Shoes.  My really comfortable shoes are sooo not pretty and wearing new shoes to something like this is a no no.  Why didn’t I buy shoes earlier you ask?

Because it’s hard to find shoes for my long freaking feet.  Believe me, I looked.  So since I finished my new job project earlier than I expected, I’ll be spending part of this weekend looking for shoes.  Send up good wishes–I tend to get frustrated.

The other part will be finishing up Rachel’s critique–we cut it to the wire this year on each other’s work and with the new job, I’m behind. 

Oh and sorry I had the comments turned off on the last post.  Don’t know how that happened.  But Blogland is silent and cobwebby all over–guess we’re all pretty busy.

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in My Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Conference Time

  1. Michele says:

    I have shoe shopping issues too. Not because of big feet, but because of style and comfort. After the third attempt of toe pinching shoe fitting, I give up!

    Blogland has been quiet lately. ‘Tis summer. Funny thing about that, I have had several things to blog about, but silly me.. I blocked my own IP address and couldn’t get access. LOL All is fixed now and I am happy.

    P.S. two days … no rain, you?

  2. Bellezza says:

    Oh, shoes! The pair you pictured look delightful, but that’s because while I admire sexy shoes, I’m more of a practical girl myself. If you’re into comfort, like me, but still want some look, I recommend these brands: Born, Think!, Clark, of course Birkenstock. I even bought a silver pair with rhinestone buckles at http://www.completebirkenstock.com I’m sure you know that Zappos has free shipping and free returns. You can’t go wrong!

  3. I’m a 9.5 just like Mary Janice Davidson. But my feet are narrow, especially my heels. I had to buy 8.5 M pumps to keep my heels from sliping out of them, and that is with the slingbacks adjusted as tight as possible. My toes are going to be so pissed come the RITA/GH ceremony.

  4. And btw, are you going to let my feet hang out with your feet this week?

  5. that would be sliPPing, not sliPing…

  6. relliott4 says:

    No rain here either and it’s been sooo hot and humid. All the shoes pinched but three today. I really went for comfort over looks–though I was careful not to pick out any real dogs. heh heh

    I have some Clarks–but I’ll be checking in zappos. Thanks Bellezza!

    And yes, Heather, I’m sure we’ll spend quite a bit of time together. I haven’t even put together my entire schedule–just some of it. Oh, and since Rachel had to back out of the Wednesday night gathering with some of the Okies–I’ll drag you with me. Wait… are you coming down Wednesday or Thursday?

  7. Heidi and I are commuting Wed/Thur, and then staying at a nearby hotel Fri/Sat.

    I need to program your cell # into my phone…

  8. carol says:

    Can’t wait to hear all about RWA. I’m guessing Ink is out so I’ll have to quiz you by e-mail. Have loads of fun. Carol

Leave a Reply

