Kickin’ Soundtrack!

I’m having to work on my “paying” job tonight since I got caught up in the brouhaha and I had slow progress with computer issues. 

So, I put together a soundtrack guaranteed to keep the eyes open, the mouth singing and the attitude flowing. 

Take the time to listen to the snippets on the Amazon links I’ve include if you get a chance.  Just click on the band name. 🙂

ff5.jpg

1. Drama Queen by Family Force 5.

(I love this band.  Funky and wild and the lyrics may sound simple but it’s the delivery that gets me every time.  For instance:

“You go and talk behind my back

Don’t you know that’s whack

It’s a personal attack

Oh snap

Some friend you are to me

Ur Miss Personality

Are you blind to see?

Ur such a DRAMA QUEEN”

mckay.jpg

2. Sari by Nellie McKay

I can’t say enough good things about this double CD.  Some jazzy, some silly, some rap… she does it all.  How can you not love a CD called Get Away From Me? 

(This song sooooo fits with the brouhaha.  Snippet of chorus:

“I’m sorry for the mess.

The stupid way I’m dressed

I guess I failed my test

Oh don’t you know I’m sorry for my views

I musta been confused

And yet you know that really I’m sorry for you.”

For those who have not heard this roiling fast and attitude-filled ditty, run and listen now!  I mean it.  Now.

tool.jpg

3. The Pot by Tool

Nuff said.

atomica.jpg

4. One Day in NY City by Atomica

Cause you gotta have that soft and groovy in there every once in a while to ease up the tension.

lavelle.jpg

5. Anxiety by Carolyn Lavelle

Sexy freaking song! 

celldweller.jpg

6. Switchback by CellDweller

Cause this song follows the title of one of my WIPS.  It’s hard, funky and cool.  It adds an edgy dark feel to my writing. (I wanna be writing right now!)

bitter.jpg

7. Overdue by Bittersweet

Oh man, this song is fun.  Kind of modern lounge, trip hop and sassy. “No, there’s nothing more to do.  I’ve got nothing left to say to you… I can’t explain it– I’m overdue for a certain type of affair…  I’m sorry baby, it’s just you drive me crazy…”

october.jpg

8. Into the Ocean by Blue October

Okay, this one makes me sing and I’m doing data entry stuff–need to sing, baby.

disturbed.jpg

9. Down with the Sickness by Disturbed.

Cause I’m agitated.  And I love the beginning.. that whisper “Feel that?” then the noise I love to annoy my daughter with…

coco.jpg

10. Werewolf by Cocorosie

Cause it’s weird and I just like it. 

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in My Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Kickin’ Soundtrack!

  1. You have to finish reading the thread. (If you have not already.)

    I deleted my blog post from yesterday because I didn’t want to bring any more blog attention to it. (Except for my final comment on SB from this morning, which has made me feel better, but I still wish I’d kept my mouth shut from the start.)

    Note to self: Be wary of posting on controversial blogs that do not offer you the opportunity to delete your remarks. Fifth ammendment, yadayada….

  2. relliott4 says:

    Well, one of mine looked like I was flaunting a manuscript I’d like to send to Shomi. Uh, no. It’s not even one of my completes. My wording was all off. I was trying to show that my hacker heroine wasn’t accepted well until recently and that styles change. That new shouldn’t threaten old. Good, old fashioned romance novels will never go out of style. But I for one, like that there are newer edgier areas in the genre.

    I was trying to unsub from the generator post and accidentally unsubbed from them all, so I went back and made a silly comment to get the emails again.

    But I really feel for the authors in question. Hell, I wasn’t one and I’m reconsidering RWA. But I do that often. 😉

  3. OMG! I read your comment. You are frakking hysterical and I love you. 😉

  4. relliott4 says:

    I don’t think they got it. That comment thread is as long as a book. heh heh

    Ah well.

  5. You need to scroll all the way down on my blog to see the new addition under your store link. 😉

    (Snarf is from Pinky and the Brain)

  6. I’m chuckling at your poem, but scrolled down because music? I’m SO here.

    I heard an interview with David Draiman (Disturbed’s singer) in which he said he’ll meet girls who’ll ask him to do THE sound in bed. Uh… Okay…

    Frankly, I think Sickness is a better song in its radio edit version but yes, that whisper at the start gives me shivers. Whoa, baby.

  7. relliott4 says:

    The Sound is freaking hard to do right. Half the time I sound like I’m choking on my pathetic attempts. I think I got really good at it, but my daughter asked me not to do it in front of her friends again. So, I do and will every. Single. Time. Muwhahahahaha.

    I have a LOT of music posts under art and music. I’m a huge Trip Hop fan so you’ll find a lot of great band recos!

  8. Oh, “The Pot” by Tool! Yeah, I know what it’s about…hypocrisy. Want to know something funny? Think stoner son introduced to rebel band by middle-aged mom. Gotta love it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

