Even Stores Get Bad Reviews!

I’ve been neglecting my poor store and all the wonderful people who signed up for the newsletter. 

Lately, I’ve noticed that most sales are of the more plain designs–I’m talking words on shirt here. <g>

I haven’t bought ads in so long, most of my traffic comes from accidents, here or Heather (blowing a kiss!)  Occasionally, someone will recommend it on a message board and since I have site meters, I can follow traffic back and read the comments. 

Sometimes, it’s not fun.  The last one had someone share one of my “in-joke” shirts–not my best design but it was for someone specific and I left it up in case anyone else got it. 

Someone did, so she posted it on a message board along with a link and a wish to get a bunch of Snark shirts.  The response?  “Those are dumb.”

I kind of laughed it off because I’m old enough to realize that there isn’t a way to please everyone.  But a part of me balked because not all the designs are dumb.  Some don’t appeal to my tastes, but I tried to do different styles and colors because let’s face it, writers are one hell of a diversified bunch.  So, the designs are as well. 

But, it’s the same as putting your work out there for people to read.  Some will get it, some won’t.  Some will hate it. 

It’s all about building those skin layers, right?  Think I did a post on Armadillo Skin.  Yeah, here

I did make up a few new designs this morning and plan to work on an extra snarky edition of the Write Snark Newsletter tonight. 

black-shirt.jpg  For the subtle complainer.  heh heh.   Called Evil Day Job.

fooled.jpg  This looks good in black, too.  Called Don’t Be Fooled.

purple-hair.jpg This is for those days when you just don’t want to think about what to wear.  Grab a T-shirt and disappear into your own worlds.  Called Goes With the Purple Hair.

And this is an oldie, but it’s still one of my favorite designs.  I bought it in this style and was really pleased with the color and shape of the shirt.  At the conference, I had some unexpected and kind of devastating news on that Friday night.  It kept me from going out, so I stayed in my hotel room and slipped into this shirt and some comfy yoga pants.  The roomie and I ordered pizza and I had to go down and get it, so I just waded through a sea of fancy ladies in my comfort wear. 

However, the writers in the elevator loved the shirt and I was so out of it, I didn’t tell them where they could get one.  Duh.  I’m my own worst advertiser. <g> 

vampire.jpg  Called I Sleep With the Good Ones.  heh heh

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in My Store Posts!, My Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Even Stores Get Bad Reviews!

  1. Carol says:

    Any writer who doesn’t like your shirts is just, you know, dumb. So there. I love the vamps in the sun one especially. Just had Eternal Press request the full manuscript of Privy to Murder. We’ll see what happens. Carol

  2. Missy says:

    Rinda, I’ve been meaning to put a link to your store on my blog but forget about when when I’m doing updates. It’s on my list to do this weekend.

    Forget the negative things said (I’m sure I don’t need to tell you that) and remember that the world would be boring if everyone liked the exact same things.

  3. relliott4 says:

    Missy, if you’d like to do a banner exchange, that’d be great! I have a ton to choose from–small to large on this site.

    http://hometown.aol.com/relliott4/index.html

    Heather flies a banner for me and just picks the ones she likes off that page.

    I’m always willing to post banners for people to the right. Need to change some out in fact. 🙂

    Carol!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! A full request is wonderful!!! Oh, we must celebrate at the next meeting.

Leave a Reply

