Wanna Take Me (And other strangers) On?

How about a little challenge? 

Ever wanted to write a post-apocalyptic short-short story (up to 2500 wds) and enter it in a contest?   Guess what?  Here’s your chance!  And the entry is free.  In fact, check out the deadline and winnings details … here.

apex.jpg

Anyone who has read this blog awhile knows I’m a fan of Apex Science Fiction and Horror Magazine.  This publication is good.  Very, very good.  And it also happens to have one of the coolest editors on the planet.  😉   

Apex is still on my publication goal list, so I’m gonna give this a try.  (I’ve been so busy on the book length, I let my short story writing decline.)  

I thought it might be fun to see if any Snarky readers want to take up the challenge with me.  So?  How ’bout it? 

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in My Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Wanna Take Me (And other strangers) On?

  1. Debra Young says:

    Hey, I love APEX. I’m game! d:)

  2. relliott4 says:

    They’re great, eh? Yay! Good luck!!!! I may post about it now and again and anyone who has entered can share progress. Might be fun. 🙂

    Oh and the art on your site is wonderful. I’ve been looking for a reproduction painting (big one) of The Signal for awhile now.

  3. Ken says:

    I’ll take you on! I’ve been looking for an opportunity to do some more writing. Going to pull an old story about Saturn and retool it. Best of luck. May the best writer win.

  4. relliott4 says:

    Yes, may the best one win. Glad you’re gonna enter, Ken. Have you ever read Apex?

    Now, I just need a fantastic story idea…

  5. Hey Rinda, look forward to your entry! 🙂

    And thank you for posting this.

  6. relliott4 says:

    Hi Jason! You just happened to pick one of my favorite themes. 😉

  7. SciFiChick says:

    Never heard of Apex.. would it be at a local Borders or B&N?

  8. relliott4 says:

    Wow, I have no idea. (I’ll ask Jason) I’ve been subscribing to it since I tracked down a writer who shared space with me in Surreal Magazine.

    Oh, that sounds stalkerish, doesn’t it? 😉

    Truth is, I liked his story and when we both got some icky reviews,we commiserated and just kept up with each other. But I love the publication and look forward to it every month. One story by Jennifer Pelland (Erasure) got me completely hooked.

    I think that one is in an anthology of best stories at their site and I’d highly recommend starting there if you want to check them out.

  9. relliott4 says:

    It’s in the Best of Apex 2005
    http://www.apexbookcompany.com/products/best-of-apex-2005

    I saw on their website that they’re at Books a Million and Amazon.

Leave a Reply

