New Head Please–Feeling Snarky

heads.jpg

I need a vacation from my own head. 

Okay, I’ll be honest.  I think my family could use a vacation from the one I have now.  Living with me lately has probably been similar to living among thousands of hot, electrical wires.  I noticed they’ve been walking slow, eyes darting left and right…

I’m just plain frustrated.  I simply can’t keep up with my own life and I haven’t been able to write a word on the new book in over a month. 

When I’m not writing, I’m not happy and for some reason, this bugs those around me.  Go figure.  😉

My life was hectic when I was writing full time and taking care of this busy family.  Adding another job to that has left me scrambling just behind my world, weighted down with list after list of things that need to get done. 

I spent ten hours in front of a computer screen yesterday (most of it last night) and not one second of it was on my fiction.  So, I kind of felt like a hot wire.  And not hot in a good way either.   No, not with the ragged “I didn’t have time to fix” hair, the tired, clawed hands and the petrified muscles that made me walk like I had a… never mind.  heh heh 

So, I wanna use someone else’s head for awhile.  Preferably someone who has plenty of experience in writing best-sellers.  I’m not talking trade-out here.  No, I wouldn’t do that to someone else. 

My big ol’ head can get dusty on a shelf somewhere while the new one helps me kick out a bestseller or two.  Yeah, that sounds like a plan.

Oops, gotta go.  Child number one just called with changes in the daily marching band stuff.  And mom’s off again!

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in My Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to New Head Please–Feeling Snarky

  1. Hugs to you. Sucks when having a job interfers with your vocation. To make you smile, I got 2 puppies. 1/3 Huskie, 1/3 Golden Retriever and 1/3 wolf (!). Named them Albus and Minerva…can’t tell what book I just finished. lol. Will send you pics when I have them.

    Take a deep breath. Smile. Know your book will still be there when you get time. And you will. I promise.

  2. Oops, I spelled “interferes” wrong. Some writer I am. 🙂

  3. Michele says:

    Rinda,

    I feel your pain. I have spent the last several months (since June) looking for work. It seems that’s all I do. When I take my break from the job hunt I am so drained I can’t even fathom writing, my brain is fried.
    Seems I got more writing done when I had a job! How does that work??

    School will be starting soon, so you should have at least a few hours a day without ‘taxi’ duty. Of course, that will leave you with more time for ‘the man’ to get you down. HAHAHA (sorry.. couldn’t help it) Or you could just save that time for writing.

    My oldest graduated in May, so she is around ALL THE TIME. We are so alike it’s killing me! She is one of those kids that you have to entertain because she never mastered the skill on her own. Ugh!
    My youngest is with her dad, so no worries there.. I wish there were 😦

    Anyway… I would trade heads with you, but you wouldn’t get a best seller outta me, you’d get random acts of wierdness. And occasionally things will just fly outta yer mouth (words.. not things.. words). It’s all good!

    Ok.. shut up Michele.. shhhh…. you talk to much.. shhh
    (it’s the voices in my head.. see.. another bonus!!)

  4. dailytri says:

    Happy to lend you mine, I’m quite tired of it really. Although this noggin in place of yours might startle close friends and relatives.

  5. Laura says:

    Not to mention, with a new head you get to try on a whole new hairstyle without committing! I say, find a bestselling writer with a ‘hawk.

  6. I think your head is very pretty and completely competent. I want you to keep your own head. 😉

    Sorry about the stress and schedule. It will get better.

  7. relliott4 says:

    I’ve just been able to get online. Turns out the daughter needed band stuff and we ended up driving all over the city looking in different stores. Then, I got my sister a present, took it to her house and met her two new puppies. I may be in love. Then… yeah, there’s more. Store, home to find out the band picnic is one hour earlier than I thought, so I’m slicin’ and dicin’ and end up standing in the hot sun watching her march…

    Tomorrow is a big family bash and then Sunday is MINE. MINE!

    Oh Michele, I am so good at random acts of weirdness. Just ask Sarah up there. 😉

    Sarah, congrats on the puppies!!

    It will get easier– I know. Just talked to the boss and apparently, I’m going through what most do a this point in the job. It can be difficult to concentrate, especially when my head would rather be wandering in my own made up worlds. 🙂

Leave a Reply

