Short and Sweet

duchovny.jpg

Watched the first episode of Californication.

Thought I’d share a brief character moment.  In the very beginning, we meet Hank and see him driving into a fantastically ornate church.  He’s scruffy looking, smoking and yeah, okay, it’s Duchovny, so he’s pretty damned hot. 

As he walks into the church, he puts his cigarette out in the holy water.

Short.  Sweet.  Yeah, I know not sweet in action… but sweet as far as characterization.  That one small move told us a lot about this character.

So what did it say?

And can you come up with other short and sweets?

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in Helpful Writing Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Short and Sweet

  1. Michele says:

    ok, so I’ve never heard of that show. Sounds yummy though. I’ll have to pull the remote away from my kid and find it!

    Oh, guess what I am reading thanks you to?? Can you guess? Yes, that’s right.. Lisey’s Story. Picked it up today. On the first page of the first chapter. There was some pretty neat stuff on the pages before, gave me something to think about!

  2. X. Dell says:

    Says to me anti-authority (disdainful of what doctors say and sacred objects, wouldn’t accept peers view of appearance as worth anything. etc/). I like him already.

    I don’t remember the words exactly, but one short and sweet was Fitzgerald’s description of Tom Buchanon in The Great Gatsby as a man who peaked during high school, the rest of his life savoring of anti-climax.

  3. Celise says:

    I’d heard about this show, but I was never much of an X-files fan, so…short but sweet, the rumor is that this show won’t last long without some humor.

  4. relliott4 says:

    Michele, the show seems to be primarily about boobs. Nekkid ones. Maybe wait until the kid is out altogether. 😉

    I’m hoping there is a little more humor in later episodes, Celise. You could be right there. But as a writer, watching another work through some of the more neurotic aspects of our personalities is kind of interesting. I was a huge X-Files fan but will admit to missing the last season almost entirely. They moved it to a night that made watching difficult for me.

    Oh X, I love that line from the Gatsby!

    And the way Hank put out the cigarette was important, too. He didn’t deliberately lower his hand in to extinguish–no, he just flicked it in there as he passed. Totally self-absorbed and irreverent.

  5. SciFiChick says:

    Duchovny is hot, but from the previews he doesn’t look that great in this show.. Just natural aging, or are they making him look that way on purpose for the character?

  6. relliott4 says:

    It’s for the character. His life is messed up and he’s suffering from writer’s block and sleeping with anything that moves–drinking…

    It’s kind of a standard, neurotic blocked writer thing, but I’ll give it a few more tries to see if anything stands out. Mostly because it is Duchovny. 🙂

Leave a Reply

