Miss It Already

I won’t be able to blog much for a few days.  I’m sending my laptop home with this great IT person who offered to try and figure out why it takes half an hour to boot and why I must reboot ever two hours. 

And why my new security software boots me off my wireless network.  CONSTANTLY.

She’s going to switch out my C and D drives because my D drive is currently twice the size of C and what kind of stupid sense does that make? 

I have a desktop but I’m also working out of the house in an office this week, so evenings will be spent out with the family and catching up on the million and one things I usually do during the day.

So, what have I learned about myself tonight while cleaning up this thing so it can go home with someone else?

1. I’m not comfortable sending out my writing since a lot of it is roughdraft.  And though I’ve backed it up on CD, emailed it to myself and even loaded it onto a private Yahoo thing, I’m still hesitant to delete.  Sheesh.

2. I have more uh, spicy ebooks than I realized. <g>

3. I have more uh, spicy pics than I realized. <bg>

4. I printed out all my current chapters for hard copy rewrites and realized …

5. I have seriously freaky attachment issues to this thing.  Maybe a little time apart will be good for us. 

So, I’ll check in as much as possible on other blogs and I’ll possibly find time to short blog here, but I’m also working on a little something I owe Heather, so the break will be good in more ways than one. 

Stick around and don’t give up on me.  Her topic was a difficult one and hopefully, my answer to that challenge will entertain. 😉

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in My Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Miss It Already

  1. Carol says:

    I’ll miss seeing you here. Missed you at Ink. I guess I just need to call you and get a fix that way. Carol

  2. Michele says:

    I know you’ll be around. Don’t ignore Lisey now 😉

    Computers are such silly things. I would have helped you out if I were there, but.. you are a wee bit far for tech service (10+ yrs of computers).

    BTW, picked up The Talisman, someone neglected to tell me it was 7 million pages long.. oh wait.. I miscounted… 699 million pages 🙂 I have the others on reserve!
    See you soon!!

  3. relliott4 says:

    I picked Lisey back up this morning while blow drying my hair and almost started crying! I stopped right in the middle of a scene about Scott and his brother. I’m afraid to go back. But I am tonight after my chapter and critique work is done.

    Carol, I’m not missing Ink next month for anything. I’m missing you guys, too. Hopefully, my laptop will work better. I was spending a ton of time repairing it constantly. She’s going to wipe it and reset.

  4. Celise says:

    Yeah, I’d be kinda nervous, too. Although, I wouldn’t be as nervous as you…what with all the spicy pics and all. LOL

  5. relliott4 says:

    I deleted them. I deleted all my personal files on it. It’s amazing how many people have sent me “beefcake” pictures or how many I collected for my friend, Gena. I hadn’t realized how many were on my hard drive until I went through it. Oops. 😉

  6. This is me toilet papering your blog.

    Weeeee.

  7. You better not miss Ink next month… I miss you and have a lot to tell you about. Oh, and BTW, why haven’t you shared those beefcake pics?

Leave a Reply

