Weekend Music and Art

womancover.jpg 

Jumped on tonight to share some music. I’ve been listening to Iron and Wine.  Yes, folk music.  I do have a love for that genre, too. Suprising from someone who is a fan of alternative, trip hop and  groups like Tool and Korn–but I have all kinds of favs from classical up to metal.  Believe me, my music collection is seriously intense. Okay, okay, maybe a tad ridiculous.

I listen to a lot of mellow music when I’m cooking or taking a bath, or just lounging with a book and a glass of wine.  

Iron and Wine is perfect for such things.  See, when it comes to folk, I’m picky.  So, I like to latch onto places like www.lastfm.com and type in someone I like to get similar suggestions. I used to do this with Pandora Radio, but I can never get it to work these days and I don’t have trouble with lastfm. 

So…I uh… clicked in Over the Rhine.  Like any of you are surprised with my recent gushiness over their new CD.  I don’t really consider them folk, but since their style crosses genres, they bring up other cross-genre musicians.

So, some of the music played:

Vienna Teng–have all her CDs

The Sundays–Yes.  Need More Please. 

Leigh Nash–have hers–don’t listen much, though

Beth Orton–oh yeah, all of em

Ten Thousand Maniacs–ditto

Fiona Apple–ditto 

Aimee Mann– a few–not all yet since she’s quite prolific (Man, I still don’t think anyone can top her Save Me from Magnolia.)

Sarah McLachlan–ditto…

Seeing a pattern?  But I hadn’t heard Iron and Wine and I liked it.  This is a male voice, btw.  Some female harmony.

So, I picked up the EP, Woman King, and found a beaut!  Smooth, feel-good music with lush acoustics and voices that blend like magic.  You can listen to samples here.  If you like it, it’s a few dollars cheaper at Itunes. 😉  Kind of reminds me of Sufjan Stevens and yeah, I have most everything he’s done.

 endlesscover.jpg

This CD, Our Endless Numbered Days, sounds a little more mellow, a little more folk and acoustic and very, very lovely.  The second tune, Naked As We Came, sounds fantastic.  This CD is on my “to-be-purchased” list, but I’ll probably cave soon with that WAY TOO FREAKING EASY Itunes.

There is a streaming audio player on Iron and Wine’s main site.  Click their name above. 

And in art, check out Cha Feily.  Very moody photography.  I love that first one!  You can click it to bring it up large.  Be a great SFAP shot–but I’ve been playing it safe and using only royalty free photos. 

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in Art & Music. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

