Late Sunday Ramble

I’ve been having font issues.  Pull out your magnifying glass and read the last post for proof.  Not sure what’s causing this particular theme to go tiny on occasion, but I did a study of html to try and get past it on my own.

Sorry for skipping the Sunday ramble.  I really don’t know what to ramble about because we have some business issues that are kind of ruling our world at this time. 

In short, we own a side business that is being robbed weekly and even though the slimy, low-life bastards aren’t getting much money, they are causing quite an expense with the replacement of equipment they destroy.  Not to mention the time consumed by us driving over an hour away twice a day to make sure they don’t get much money.  Grr. 

So, I’ve uh, been really, really grumpy.  

It’s not such a good idea to post when angry, eh?

But, I have finished two good books lately.   Lisey’s Story by Stephen King was just plain brilliant.  Yes, the style of the book drove me nuts on occasion, but the story is just fantastic.  It’s horror with the most wonderful love story.  I was amused, horrified and so freaking touched, I didn’t sleep much the night I finished it.

And surprise, surprise, I picked up an historical romance.  No, it’s not my bag.  Not since I was in high school and devoured them like candy.  But I got one at the conference and with all the great reviews, I thought I’d give it a shot.  Picked it up when I crawled in the tub for a soak and let’s just say, I went beyond the wrinkly stage before I shook my mind from that world and realized just how long I’d been sitting there.  The Leopard Prince by Elizabeth Holt is sweet, fun and sexy.  A noblewoman who falls in love with her steward and no, he didn’t turn out to be titled in the end.  He was just a man.  A wonderful man.  I loved this story.

So, I’m going to go through my writing and try to find a good poem for the Monday Poetry Train and hopefully, shake this anger away and get back to writing posts. 🙂

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in My Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Late Sunday Ramble

  1. Michele says:

    Yeah!! You finished it!! WOOHOO!!!

    So, now you know about the ‘bools’ and ‘bad gunky’ and OMG did that cellar stuff not just freak you out?! And that crazy sister ‘manda bunny’, what a hoot!
    I could totally go on and on, but… I won’t because someone out there may be reading it, wouldn’t want to spoil it for them!!

    There need to be more books out there like that!!

  2. Ken says:

    Did you call the cops about whoever is stealing from you?
    I hope they catch whoever did it.
    The picture from the Poetry blast was awesome, isn’t it?

    Actually, I was angry earlier today and I wrote nicely to my brother and his wife and then I realized I had jumped to conclusions and that I should have been politer. So I hope you find your peace soon.

  3. relliott4 says:

    The cops come out every weekend. They dusted for fingerprints this time but there is little they can do. A lot of the businesses are being hit in that area.

    Oh, what picture from the poetry blast?

    Peace would be a good thing. I’m working on it. 🙂

  4. Ken says:

    If you go to the first person who responded and click on her name there is a wonderfully expressive poem attached to a picture of one of those castles on an island in the middle of nowhere which is just incredible. I’m practicing my Faulknerian prose.

  5. relliott4 says:

    i have not taken the time to read any of the poems, but I hurried over and yes, that one is fantastic! Makes me want to write. Thanks for pointing it out. 🙂

  6. rhian says:

    missed you on the train. big sad sigh.

  7. relliott4 says:

    I know, I missed it, too. I haven’t had any chances to work on new poetry and the rest of my old stuff needs work. I am working on one of them now, so I’m hoping it’ll be ready for next week. 🙂

Leave a Reply

