Just for Laughs–Memory Lane

So, I’m mixing up a batch of banana bread–that I probably won’t eat–and I’m popping a Bit-o-Honey (I love them!!!!) into my mouth, when my son says,

“Hey Mom, did you know it takes one thousand, six hundred steps to work off one M&M?”

Brat.

I’m pretty sure that’s for a whole pack.  I hope. 

Want another laugh?

This was the first magazine to publish one of my short stories.  It was a cool magazine, but I think the uh, covers, caused problems because they were being shelved in the wrong areas of bookstores. 

So, take a look.  When I went looking for this one, can you guess where it had been shelved?  (See my name on the cover?  I hugged the UPS delivery lady when it came in. <g.)

first-publication.jpg

I simply can’t bring myself to read this story.  It’s so far removed from the writing voice I’ve since developed, it’s like reading someone else’s work. 

I think that’s why I’ve never gone back to rewrite my first three completed manuscripts.  I pulled the second one out about a year ago and actually cringed.  Cringed and blushed and squirmed and fervently hoped sufficient time had passed since editors saw my name on that train wreck. 

My first manuscript.  Well, it’s on a floppy disk… and a diskette, so it might as well be.

Should be anyway. <g>

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in My Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Just for Laughs–Memory Lane

  1. Michele says:

    That cover just screams ‘alternative lifestyle’! I wonder who chose the cover art and what drug they were on at the time. I most certainly would have stuck that in the ‘alternative’ section of the store.

    Now, add a female to the picture and you have hot sweaty wonderfully erotic romance… or so I hear

    P.S. My daughter says, “That is soo wrong!”

  2. So…I’m looking at that cover pic and find myself wanting to know if this was a m/m story?

  3. Tez Miller says:

    The photo is frightening. Your name on the cover is ace 🙂

    Have a lovely day! 🙂

  4. relliott4 says:

    LOL Kristen. Nah, mine was a story set in New Orleans about a husband’s romantic evening for his wife. Now, these days, that cover would be perfect for M/M stories.

    I’m not sure why the magazine ended, probably for the same reasons most of them do–marketing, etc. I’ll have to scan one of the other covers–which has long-haired, blonde triplets. All cover models. This guy was a cover model winner in the over forty competition, I believe.

    I published in this magazine twice and still have both issues–the pictures are removable photographs.

    But yes, my friends searched them out and found them in the men who like men section. I felt sorry for the guys who might have purchased them and been disappointed when they read the sweet romances inside. 😉

  5. Carol says:

    Your story I know was great but that cover, well. . . Hope the address I sent you for Myspace works. It did for me last night. But, I can’t check it from work, gov. computer, doesn’t do MySpace. Carol

Leave a Reply

