Sad Today

While Luciano Pavarotti was here, he gifted a lot of hearts and even more imaginations. 

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in Art & Music. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Sad Today

  1. Kathy says:

    I know. It’s strange to think of the world of opera without Pavarotti.

    Speaking of gifts, I read this eulogy on the ‘what do you think’ page on CNN:

    **************************************************************************
    Marelize, South Africa
    In the mid-’90s, Luciano Pavarotti came to South Africa and performed in the town of Stellenboch. It was a very exclusive open-air concert. The tickets were very expensive and all the rich and famous in South Africa were there. Next to the stadium is a river that runs through the town. On the night, crowds of people gathered along the banks of the river. Like me, they could not afford the concert. From where we stood we could see the beautiful mountains, see the lights of the stadium and we could not see him, but we could hear his amazing voice. I looked at the people around me, they all had an expression of sheer wonder on their faces. He gave us all a wonderful gift that night. I will never forget it! He made us fall in love with opera!
    ************************************************************************

    This was the most beautiful eulogy–I could just picture this happening in the warm South African night-the people stading around the river next to the stadium, drawn by his magnificent voice. If I were Pavarotti, that would have meant more to me than any $350 a ticket ever paid to hear me sing.

    K

  2. He will definitely be missed. I went to see him when Jon and I were first married (Mid-eighties). Barney went with us. I loved the concert. Amazing.

    Every time Pavarotti sang, Jon went to sleep, snoring included. At one point Barney yelled out, “I’ll give you a dollar if you’ll sing ‘Innocent Man’!”

    Needless to say, now I choose different people with whom to attend concerts. 🙂

  3. Michele says:

    Sara: That is hilarious! I just about spit soda all over my computer!! 🙂

    Pavarotti will be missed.
    I remember growing up my parents used to blare that stuff through the house, and us kids being the preteens/teens that we were would roll our eyes and run for the hills.
    Occasionally, I would emerge from my room and let out a high pitched very> off key squeal. My “How do you do” to Pavarotti. My parents just rolled their eyes.

  4. dailytri says:

    So true. I heard the piece on NPR about him this morning. How could you not be a fan – even if he did cancel concert dates on surprisingly short notice. The man didn’t HAVE to sing. He chose to.

  5. A few years ago, my friend Marie and I went to see him in Tulsa. Though he was not in full voice, he was still fantastic. Marie and I sat there and cried when he sang. I cried this morning when I heard the news. He was simply the best tenor – EVER!

Leave a Reply

