Yummy and Funny Randomness

Dinner was interesting tonight.  I was making this new quiche where you line a crispy, cheese and bacon crust at the bottom of a pie pan, then pour the quiche over the top. 

(Since this was a recipe I completely doctored, therefore making it my own… and since this was the first try for the family, I had a regular dinner of spaghetti, too.  I try-out new combinations of food a lot and yeah, sometimes my ideas don’t work.  Sometimes. ) 

So, the hubby was supposed to bring home the missing milk and I had everything all chopped and laid out and he forgot.  (Very unusual, that.  In his defense, the constant robberies at the business have him distracted.)  So, I substituted uh, extra egg, water and butter.  Since the thing was full of broccoli and onion, I thought it might be okay.  I mean bacon and cheese is always good, right?

It was okay. Just okay.  It’ll freaking rock with the right ingredients.  But the cheese and bacon make an excellent chewy crust on the bottom… or in my case top.  It’s supposed to get more crispy, but I was using this awesome, awesome pan. 

sunflower.gif

My Aunt Sharon–who comments and recently wrote for the SFAP occasionally sells this flexible cookware and I simply can’t gush enough.  (Nothing ever sticks and you never use oil or spray or anything.  Everything cooks just right.  The clean up is so fast and easy–they should be illegal. No icky overspray then rust on the muffin pans… <g>  I’m serious, go to her blog and ask her about it if you like to cook.) Anyway, this is the pan I used and it always makes the prettiest cakes.  They look like sunflowers. 

So…I had the most gorgeous yellow, cheesy, browned-in-the-perfect-spots sunflower quiche ever. 

Next time, it’ll even taste gorgeous. 😉

I made a pound cake in this pan and took it to the recap in August at OKRWA and the writers will tell you–it’s pretty.

So, anyway, we’re eating together for a change and we’re also watching Myth Busters.  That show rocks.  Would it not be the best job to have?  My husband and son love it and since my son is learning, we even order the repeats on On Demand.

But, tonight, even the teenager is with us.  She has her own interesting way of communication.  You say something she doesn’t like and she says, “Sad face.”  Or “Mad face.”  Sometimes, instead of laughing, she’ll say, “Amused face.” 

Yeah, so tonight, she looks over at one of the guys on the show, squeals then says, “Oh, he’s like… soooo cool!  He’s like… bald.. with this…like… really,really, poofy mustache and he’s all… like artsy with his little hat and that really, really poofy mustache.”

She’s like… so cute.  <g>

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in Odds & Ends. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Yummy and Funny Randomness

  1. Sharon D says:

    Thanks for the testimonial!!! I’m putting in an order next week, probably Wednesday, if anyone wants anything from Demarle at Home. Don’t know if I told you, but I made the best baguettes the other day. The new Silform screen like pans are specifically for breads with crispy crusts and are awesome.
    Also, I wanted to let you know that I’m mad at you (just kidding), but I didn’t realize that I was so suggestible, or maybe it was because I read your blog right before I went to sleep last night, but I had nightmares about mice all night. Mice running all over the place, leaving little mice messes. ;o(
    Sharon

  2. relliott4 says:

    You are welcome. I’m funny about posting stuff unless I really like it, so I was being honest. I’ve had a blast cooking with this stuff. It’s so low maintenance!

    Hey, I was glad the crust on this one wasn’t that crispy–it made a great, almost pastry like crust out of the cheese. That part of the quiche tasted gorgeous. heh heh

    Sorry about the nightmares. Mice are small and furry and just not that scary to me. Now, the snake in my garage tonight? Different story. Ick.

  3. scooper says:

    I haven’t played in the kitchen like I would like to. It’s been hot and we only have window air conditioners, so I’ve pretty much avoided the kitchen as much as possible. The pan is way cool.

    Once more thank you for showing me what I have to look forward to with two girls. Ahhhh!!

  4. relliott4 says:

    Scooper? Driving. So very much driving. You are mainly a means of getting them where they want to go once they hit the teens.

  5. Carol says:

    I want some of that cookware. Tell me how to get it, please. Sounds too cool. Also, in BLOODY MURDER I will have to have one of Tali’s kids use the “sad face” “amused face” communication tools. Like too funny. Carol
    Visit My Website

  6. relliott4 says:

    I love her speech so much, I have a teenager in this next Dweller book who talks like my daughter. I already warned her I was stealing her style. 😉

    I’ll ask Sharon about the cookware–I gave out her website in case anyone was interested, but I’ll see if she minds if I give out her email address. I really do love the stuff so far. Makes baking easy.

  7. Sharon D says:

    Rinda, You may feel free to give out my email address. I actually have two, I have recently started one for the business: flexibake@hotmail.com. If anyone would like more information on the bakeware, go to http://www.demarleathome.com. Once at the website, on the right, there is a link that says Good Morning Utah. If you click on that, there is an article and a place where it says “see video” and a representative who is also a registered dietitian gives a demonstration. If you would like to order any bakeware, leave me a note on my email, including a phone number to reach you at, and I’ll contact you (sorry, in the U.S. only).
    Also, I have some pics of foods I have made with the bakeware on my blog. Sharon D

  8. Jen says:

    I am so looking forward to our new kitchen. Not so much looking forward to the actual move, though. BUt the new kitchen will be great! 🙂

  9. Jen says:

    Oops. Rinda, that last one was me. Forgot I was logged in under the “Confessions of a Fat Chick” account.

  10. Michele says:

    Teenagers are funny sometimes. Mine never cease to amaze me with what comes out of their mouths.

    btw.. i’ve got a new face.. check it out 🙂

Leave a Reply

