Terrible Blogger and Friends’ Good News

 help.jpg

I drew this messy and cartoony on purpose, but since I was using a mouse and a cruddy software program then, it doesn’t look so good.  But, it has sentimental value, so I left in the store.  It was a request from one of my sisters… isn’t she pretty?  LOL!

I’ve taken on some extra work–it wasn’t planned, but I’m struggling to keep up and the thing that’s suffering the most is this blog.  I MISS YOU GUYS!!  It should even out to where I have more time at night for my writing and blogs.  I know I keep saying that…

The only thing about taking on an outside job that you can do at home—is you’re never really off.  Now that I’m going in the office as well as bringing work home, my three days a week working, then the two plus the weekend I’d planned for writing haven’t been happening.  Plus, my teenager is sooooo busy.  This weekend, we have homecoming and band concerts, etc.

But my current work pays well and so I’m determined to get a handle on this.

Can you tell I’m a little tired tonight? 😉

In good news, I finished my own rewrites on the novel on Sunday!!  Yay!  The entire thing has been sent to Rachel who will probably find something because I get so caught up, I ALWAYS miss something–but I feel pretty good about the book right now and really want to surf it around to agents.

Rachel’s new cover is up and it’s fantastic!  We’ve agreed to do a workshop for the OKRWA meeting this month–and since we’ve never done one together, it should be a hoot.  We’re filling in at the last minute, so we didn’t get much notice.  I have to skip one of my writer meetings this month, so we can put something together.  Nothing like last minute, eh?  But since we’re combining it with a really fun old workshop I’ve done several times with the group, it should be a fun.

My friend, Carol Shenold’s ebook, Privy to Murder,  is launching this weekend.  It’s a murder mystery and I love the play on words in the title. 😉

So, who else has good news?  I feel so out of the writing community right now, I’d love to hear.  My bloglines showed so many missed posts, I couldn’t read them all so I’ve missed a lot of the good stuff lately.  That includes several tags that are just now showing up on my blogstats.  Sorry I missed them.

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in My Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Terrible Blogger and Friends’ Good News

  1. I was going to come to the meeting, but I scheduled a dance clinic for my daughter on that day. I’ll be there in spirit. 🙂

    I can’t wait for you to send out your book!

  2. Celise says:

    Well, let’s see: my online store is officially opened for business. SassyPurseCandy.com. Feel free to check it out.

    Uh, what else? You’ve been tagged: http://celisedowns.com/blog/2007/10/02/tagged-with-my-pants-down/ Feel free to play. Or not.

    Annnnnnnd….I really need to get on the ball with writing. The first draft is due Nov 1st and I’m so close I can smell. I took too long of a break, but I’m going to have to start soon or Draven (my MC) is going to be burning off some butt hairs.

  3. I agree. The cover for Rogue is awesome! 🙂

  4. Hey…that wouldn’t be OUR writing group you’re planning to miss? Seriously, glad you get the chance to do that workshop. Glad this stage of your rewrites are finished.

    I’m writing a movie review column for http://www.theworldofmyth.com. I will be known as “Pixilated Polly”…it means “possessed”. The poem I wrote for SFAP, with needed rewrites, will be published in their October issue, which should be up soon. It’s called “Haunted House”.

    Miss you. Hugs.
    ~Sara

  5. Carol says:

    Thanks for the plug, Rinda. It’s so cool to have the book coming out, and ready for pre-order *she shamelessly hints to anyone who likes mysteries.* Love Rachel’s new cover and it matches the first one so wll. I’m glad your’re making such good progress with the book and can’t wait for it to come out, and it will.

  6. Teri Brown says:

    Congrats on getting the book done. And rogue is awesome!
    Teri

  7. Rinda says:

    Yeah Sarah, that’s the one. It’s Rachel’s only free Saturday and we got this at the last minute so we need at least one day together to get it ready.

    And WOW on the column!! If anyone knows scary movies, it’s you. Are you going to review your favorite oldies?

    I bet you are so excited, Carol!

    Celise, I had to take a break myself to get used to working a job outside of writing again. I’m finally getting a handle on things, so I have to get working, too! Cool store, btw!

    Thanks Terri! Hi Bonnie!

  8. Jen says:

    Writing news, huh?

    -Agent appointment on October 12 or 13. I’ll find out for sure which one on the 11th. Planning to pitch “Kiernan’s Curse.”
    -Speaking of KC, I’m 3 chapters away from the end on the first round of edits. Those should be done by Saturday.
    -“Devon’s Wish,” 100 years after KC but following the same family, will be done in rough draft form sometime today.
    -I have a poem coming out soon in Writers’ Journal.

    Um….

    I think that’s it for now.

  9. relliott4 says:

    Oh, good luck with the agent appointment, Jen–and all the other good news! A poem in Writers Journal, eh? Very cool.

Leave a Reply

