Rough Day… Feeling Snarky…

Earlier this year, a friend of my daughter’s killed himself.  Since then, we know of three other kids who have tried.  Today, one of those succeeded.  This boy wasn’t a friend of my daughter’s, but he was a close friend of one of her best friends.   He also picked a horrifying, painful way to die.   

My daughter is on the phone with her hysterical friend.  These kids are dealing with so much death and so young.  

So, I’m feeling sad tonight.

I was earlier, too.  I’m going into an office every day for a couple of weeks and today, I was physically ill and exhausted, so the afternoon was rough.  I had an unbelievably bad headache.  

I’m sooo ready to get this next book in the series going. 

It’s outlined and I’ve roughed a bunch of scenes.  I’m really hoping ‘book one’ finds an agent and a publishing house in the near future.  I could have a three chapter submission to go along with the synopsis in one solid week of writing.  All ready to go. So I’m frustrated.

Frustrated by a lof of things lately. <g>

The good news is this book is going to roll out of my mind with incredible speed–once I get my schedule straightened out.  The hubby and I are working out exactly what we need, so I may be able to slim down my workload very soon. 

I’ve always been able to make the time for writing–no matter what– but I’m slammed even for me.  Even the weekends are completely full up for the next two months. 

Sooo…. since this is already a rough post, I must admit that I’ve been unable to get a story finished for the Apex Contest next week.  This is a first for me.  I’m always able to pull together short fiction and a challenge gets me going like nothing else.  I did have a couple of readers take me up on the challenge.  I sincerely hope you’ve had better luck and I will be rooting for you to win. 🙂  

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in My Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Rough Day… Feeling Snarky…

  1. I’m so sorry for all the sadness.

    I’m speechless.

  2. Celise says:

    What I don’t understand is why they feel that killing themselves has to be the last and final resort? Is life REALLY that hard? TALK TO SOMEONE, for crissakes. That’s what best friends are for. That makes me so mad when I hear stuff like that. I’m sorry you’re having a craptacular day. Hope it gets better.

    In honor of Teen Read Week next week, I’ll be posting interviews with the main characters from my novels. If you’d like to ask my girls a question, pop on over.

  3. relliott4 says:

    Teen Read Week, huh? My daughter is most definitely a reader. When she isn’t on the computer or phone. What am I saying? She’s on the phone no matter what else she’s doing. 😉

    Yeah Heather, I’ve been speechless, too. Mostly sad, though. I really wish these kids would talk to someone.

  4. Ken says:

    Sorry to hear that your daughter’s friend’s friend committed suicide. I haven’t been able to put a story together fully either for the Apex contest yet. I’m going to try to pull something out of a hat. The two stories that I wrote (one and a half actually) just didn’t satisfy me. I’m going to try to put some more into them and enter something. The pieces are there I just don’t like the picture. I think I’m going to take a chapter of Brave New World and enter that. Just kidding.

    Sorry about your frustrations. I hope things will get better for all of us.

  5. Oh, Rinda, that’s terrible. Another young life ended. I see lots of young people and what I notice is a lack of direction…a lack of goals…and most of all, a lack of any hope for their futures. A good portion of these children have parents whose priorities in life are drugs and drinking. Most of the moms choose boyfriends over daughters and sons. It’s horrible. The children want to feel loved. None of them use birth control, because they believe a baby will love them, no matter what. It’s a scary thought…some of these girls want nothing more than to have children and exist by government funds. Few of them work. All have dropped out of school…with only a few going on to get their GEDs. I don’t know what the answer is…it’s a full-time job fighting for my own children.

  6. Sorry, didn’t mean to sound so unencouraging. I know there are children out there who have it all together, who come from happy families and will succeed in their lives. I still have hope…

  7. relliott4 says:

    Ken, I outlined two great stories but couldn’t figure out where to begin them. So, I do plan to finish them– and submit them the old fashioned way. I just won’t make the next deadline for the contest. I’ll get a handle on my shedule and hey, sounds like you did pretty well. A story and a half–in rough form–is excellent! Give them a few weeks and look again. That’s what I like to do. 🙂

    Sara, I sounded pretty unencouraging in this post. I was simply exhausted last night. Had insomnia for over a week, so my “dealing with it” threshold was low.

    I do know a lot of kids with solid goals and hope for the future. All is not lost. There just seems to be a bunch of sad ones in my daughter’s life lately. She was smiling and running from me tonight. I was in full out tease mode. Sang annoying songs so they’d stick in her head, tickled her… heh heh

  8. X. Dell says:

    That’s devastating. My condolences to the child’s family, but to you, your daughter, and her surviving friends.

    Your daughter seems like a strong young woman, the one who the distraught friends call for help. I’m sure she knows enough not to place the weight of the world on her shoulders.

    It might be a good idea for her friends to receive counseling. Something tells me that more attempts are on the way.

  9. Sharon D says:

    Oh, Rinda,
    That is so sad. Don’t know what to say.

  10. Laura says:

    How awful. I feel so bad for that poor kid’s parents.

Leave a Reply

