Next Submission Going Out Today!

funny.jpg

So.  Is he cheering me on?  Or screaming, “No!”

I’m sending out another submission to the next agent on my list.  Technically it’s tomorrow, but this blog puts the next day’s date on late night posts. 

I haven’t heard back from the first agent yet, but I’m thinking it might be better to start querying more often during the agent seeking process.  Plus, it’s been five months and I think I need to work a little harder on the “getting this career going” part of the writing process.

Besides, I met this agent in Dallas and had an absolute blast with her.  She had me rolling.  Or I would have been if I hadn’t been squished in a small booth in a dark restaurant where we had to cook all our food in a pot of boiling oil… 

LOL!  Can you tell the fondue experience wasn’t my favorite?  But the hilarious conversation with this agent certainly was.  Plus, our personalities seemed to mesh. 

I’ve always felt I should query agents one at a time–as you’re supposed to with editors.  I heard repeatedly in Dallas that even agents expect authors to query several at a time.  But old habits are hard to break, eh?  I’ve waited even though this agent gave me her card and asked me to send her something.  I’d already sent the first submission out to someone else.

I keep thinking, “What if they both want me?”  I hate letting anyone down, so I’ve avoided this situation.  (Yeah, the odds are astronomical… I know… heh heh.) 

So, cross fingers, toes or any other weird dangly oddities you may have. 

I’m ready to get this show on the road.  Book Two is calling loud and clear!  It already has a wicked title, several creepy scenes written and an outline. 

Hey, what are your thoughts on writing the second book in a series if you haven’t sold the first?  Honestly, I’ll write the book regardless because I can’t NOT write it.  I love these characters and have a great story arc for the series.  At least I like it. 

Kind of hopeful others do, too. 🙂

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in My Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Next Submission Going Out Today!

  1. Hey W.S. – I saw you over at Rhian’s.

    FYI – it took a few agents I queried over SIX months to get back to me. The longest one was 8 months. By that time, I already had an agent, so it was their loss (haha).

    After I’d been querying for a few months, I decided to query an agent per day until I found one. Unless an agent specifically says they don’t want simultaneous submissions, I think you have the go-ahead to submit to as many as you want. They pretty much expect it. I had a few ask if I had submitted elsewhere and told them yes. None of them were upset, just curious about how many fulls I had floating around, that’s all.

    And if you get two agents fighting over you – well more power to you! You go, girl!

  2. I’m keeping my fingers crossed for you, Rinda! 🙂

  3. Rinda says:

    I used to submit books straight to editors and had some gone over a year. Had a short story out two years and heard back with a yes once. Couldn’t believe it.

    I only thought this first one might have gone faster because it came with a recommendation from a client. 🙂

  4. YAY!!! Fingers are crossed!

    (and are you still upset about the Fondue? I thought we were past that? ha ha)

    Can’t wait to CU this weekend!

    ~Brooke

  5. Rinda says:

    Brooke SWEETIE! You have a website. Yay! Everyone go look at her fantastic new bookcover!

    And yeah, I’m past the fondue–but it’s worth a joke now and then. For years. You’ll never hear the end.

    Muwhahahahahahaha

  6. Yep, I got tired of waiting for my web mistress’s ADD to clear up. It seems like I’ve been so close to launching for weeks and weeks now. Ugh… so I bit the bullet and started the blog. Hopefully she’ll be able to weave it right into the website. (When she’s done getting distracted by shiny objects)

    ANYHOO…. next time we’re in Dallas, I vote for Medieval Times.

  7. Good for you! Get that book out there! And start the second. That way, when they accept the first…and they will…you’ll already have a head start. They’ll know you have more than one book in you, and you’ll pull a higher advance.

    I’m so proud of you!

    P.S. I might bring someone to your Halloween party. 🙂

  8. Carol says:

    Absolutely query more than one agent at a time. If someone is disappointed, then they will answer more quickly the next time you query. As far as a sequel, I’d already started plotting the “Privy to Murder” sequel before Eternal sent me a contract for “Bloody Murder.” Especially with the markets and length of time it takes for a book to be contracted for, I think you have to start the next one, contract or not. Carol
    “One woman, one ghost, two murders. Read “Privy to Murder” Eternal Press

  9. Rinda says:

    Book two has parts written and the outline is done. I’m anxious to really dive into it.

    I planned to start another book, whether it was a part of this series or not. I have tooooooo many ideas. 😉

  10. Hey, at least you can blackmail this agent with her F.P’s. 😉

  11. Tez Miller says:

    Ah, I recently posted a blog on this topic: Standalone v Series. I write standalones now, after I realised that Book 1 was being rejected so many times.

    However, someone recently told me that publishers take chances on new series with debut authors. Who knows?

    Have a lovely day! 🙂

  12. I really think you should be querying en mass. Seriously. Like, ten to twenty at a time. They really do expect it, and so long as you don’t tell any of them the submission is exclusive, they’ll assume you’re sending it to all their friends too.

    That’s just the way it’s done now, and the more darts you throw, the greater your chances of hitting the dart board.

    At least, that’s how I did it. Ten at a time. 😉

  13. Jill Monroe says:

    I have all matter of things crossed!

Leave a Reply

