Fall Football and My Manly Man

snow.jpg

(Wrote this during the football game last night.  Felt like this place!)

Whoa!  It’s freezing out here!  It went from late summer madness to late cold Fall overnight.  I’m sitting in the bleachers at a highschool football game.  Tool, Disturbed, Korn and even Led Zeppelin are bursting eardrums for at least two miles in every direction.

I love this part!

The loud rumble of heavy metal, the smoky turkey legs, rapidly cooling hot dogs and cold soda.  The anticipation of a possible win… and sitting with the hubby watching our son act cool and parentless in front of girls.  <snerk>

The hubby lives for this stuff.  He’s tearing into a huge turkey leg and every now and then, will grin at me, grunt, then say, “Meat.  Woman.  Good.”

Before you go thinking he’s some kind of neanderthal, let me just share that once he gets all that grease off his fingers, he’ll reach out and curl his warm hand around mine.  There it will stay. 🙂

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in My Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Fall Football and My Manly Man

  1. I remember freezing at football games when Jeff played. We lived in a town of 1000 in Texas and they took the game seriously. I froze, was petrified because of the weather and the fear that Jeff, the smallest kid on the team, would get creamed because he was fearless and would at 100 pounds or less, tackle some 200lb kid from the opposing team.

    But it was fun in a bizarre way. I’m glad Rachel’s book is going to well. That’s a great feeling. Are you doing Nano? You could get a lot of book two started.

  2. Jill Monroe says:

    Lovely.

    Remember when we were pregnant at the same time? When did they start looking at the opposite sex??

  3. Having met Robert, I can picture this. 🙂 Glad you’re Neanderthal has a soft side. Sports…so not my cup of caramel mocha creamice.

  4. Don’t you have it when writers make typos in their comments. lol

  5. Teri Brown says:

    Been to many of those. I think it’s almost more fun as an adult than as a teen. I love listening to them talk and watching there interactions:) Which is probably because I’m a YA writer.
    Teri

  6. Just wanted to say hi. What’s new? It’s been a while…

  7. relliott4 says:

    Working like crazy all the time, S. William. I’m behind on all the blogs as well. Working to simplify. 😉

    Hi Teri! A friend of mine brought her cover to the last OKRWA meeting. It’s YA–do you know Brooke Taylor?

Leave a Reply

