Good Things Today

last-holiday.jpg

Last Holidaywith Queen Latifah.  This is my anytime feel-good movie. 

 peyroux.jpg

Madeleine Peyroux–yeah, she opens Last Holiday with her smooth, Billie Holiday style voice. Careless Love is one fantastic feel-good CD. 

Dinner menu tonight.  Pan Steaks with rosemary sauce, Black-eyed peas with sauteed onions and Blue and Gold Sausage,  and Italian roasted veggies.  Here’s my steak recipe.

Pan steaks (A good cut is the key.  If you want a nice meal, spend the extra few bucks. )
Oil (Olive is best)
Fresh Mushrooms (to taste, sliced)
Purple Onion (about 1/4 cup chopped)
Fresh Garlic (Fresh is best, but freeze dried works, too.)
Red Wine (1/2 cup) (a yummy merlot–then you can have a glass or two…)
Beef Broth (1/2 cup)
Butter (3 TBS)
Rosemary (To taste–I use about 1/4 TSP.)

I marinate the steaks in either Montreal seasoning or an herb garlic mix. Marinate for at least half an hour. Get a skillet hot with oil and sear the steaks, both sides. Turn down and cook to taste–not too long or they’ll get tough. Take out and cover to keep warm. Saute onion, mushrooms and garlic in pan drippings, then add wine and broth. Bring to boil and cook down by half. (Sometimes, I double the wine, broth and butter–I like a lot of the sauce–it’s good over other stuff.) Add the butter and crushed rosemary and simmer. I put the steaks in a pretty bowl that’s wide and cover with the sauce.

 kiss.jpg

My hubby kissing my whole face and especially my neck after our family dinner in an effort to charm me into making pumpkin bread and coffee for dessert.  It worked. <g>

The smell of pumpkin bread baking and fresh, expresso roast coffee perking while cuddling with hubby for the movie.

Oh… and I wrote 3000 words on BOAA today!!!!!!

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in My Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Good Things Today

  1. Michele says:

    Wow.. you’ve done tons today! Send some of that motivation this way… please

  2. That is a wonderful picture.

    And woohoo on the word count, especially on screw our clocks up day. You are smokin’. 😉

  3. relliott4 says:

    Heather, I was awake and alert early with the screwed up time, so I spent most of the day letting movies play on the television while writing. This dinner was an easy one. That’s why I love it–easy, yet it tastes good.

    Michele–don’t know where the motivation came from. Actually, I do. A late night phone call from my CP from NY Friday night. She inspired me to get “on” my butt and work. 🙂

    Sending good, motivational vibes your way…

  4. Woo Hoo on the 3000 words!!! 🙂

  5. Kathy says:

    Can I come eat at your house? (insert whine)

    Sometimes I just get sick of cooking–and eating–my own stuff.

    K

  6. Celise says:

    I don’t have to worry about the time change. Except for the fact that “Dexter” was on an hour later last night. And I’m almost done with Book Two in my YA series. Should’ve been done last Thursday, but when personal issues get in my way, it’s like a huge mental block. I lost a day of writing time. But I’m almost done. I’m seeing that light at the end of the tunnel. And Draven getting off my back. She was getting quite heavy. LOL

  7. Congrats on the word progress! Totally awesome!

  8. X. Dell says:

    Lemme get this straight: if I kiss your whole face, will I get pumpkin bread and coffee too?

  9. relliott4 says:

    Nope. That kissing thing only works from the hubby. He’s got me wrapped. heh heh–but it was also late at night and who wants to bake after a full day?

    However, if I’m not being charmed into making food so late at night, I always offer homemade food and coffee to friends. 😉

Leave a Reply

